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1.  Patron Timothy D. Hugo 2. Bill Number HB 877 
  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Finance  X Introduced 
   Substitute 
    Engrossed 
4.  Title Department of Taxation; Statute of 

Limitations for Amended Tax Returns 
 

  Second House: 
   In Committee 
   Substitute 
   Enrolled 
 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would increase the period in which a taxpayer may file an amended return with 
the Department of Taxation from three years to five years. 
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  No. 
 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Not available.  (See Line 8.) 
 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs 
 
The Department of Taxation (“the Department”) considers implementation of this bill as 
routine, and does not require additional funding. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill would have an unknown, but potentially significant, General Fund revenue loss, 
beginning in Fiscal Year 2017.  Between 2012 and 2015, the Department denied an 
approximately $700,000 in refunds claimed on more than 500 amended returns filed 
between three and five years after the due date.  It is not known how many taxpayers 
refrained from filing amended returns because they were aware of the three-year statute 
of limitations. 
 
In addition to the normal volume of taxpayers who discover errors between three and five 
years after the due date, this bill would increase the Commonwealth’s exposure from 
adverse litigation by one-third.  When there is an adverse court decision, the 
Commonwealth’s exposure to refund claims is usually the current taxable year plus the 
three preceding years.  This bill would increase that exposure from four taxable years to 
six taxable years.  
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In some cases, substantial amounts may be involved.  For example, in the early 1990’s 
the Department was involved in the Harper litigation, which resulted in refunds claimed by 
about 175,000 federal retirees.  While the U.S. Supreme Court decision in the case 
referred to a total liability of $400 million, Virginia’s total exposure was in the 
neighborhood of $750 million for Taxable Years 1985 through 1988 once interest was 
taken into account.  Had this bill been in effect when the issue arose in 1989, Virginia’s 
exposure could have been as much as $250 million greater for Taxable Years 1983 and 
1984. 
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
Department of Taxation 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:   
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Current Law 
 
After a tax return is filed, both the taxpayer and the Department of Taxation have the right 
to review and correct it.  The taxpayer may do so by filing an amended return, while the 
Department may audit the return and issue an assessment for additional tax.  The 
statutes of limitations concerning amended returns, refunds and assessments currently 
maintain parity between refunds and assessments. 

 
Event Refund Assessment 

Filing a return Three years from the date 
the return is due 

• Three years from the date 
the return was filed, except 

• At any time if fraudulent or if 
no return is filed 

Change in federal 
income (IRS audit or 
amended federal return) 

One year from the date of 
the federal change 

One year from the date of the 
federal change 

Filing an amended 
Virginia return 

Two years from the date an 
amended return was filed 
reporting additional tax 

• Two years from the date of 
an erroneous refund, except 

• Five years if fraudulent  

Payment of tax or 
refund 

Two years from the payment 
of an assessment 

• Two years from the date of 
an erroneous refund, except 

• Five years if fraudulent  
Change in the taxable 
income of another state 
affecting the individual 
credit for income tax 
paid to another state 

One year from the date of 
another state’s change 

One year from the date of 
another state’s change 
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Proposed Legislation 
 
This bill would increase the period in which a taxpayer may file an amended return with 
the Department of Taxation from three years to five years.  The bill would not affect any of 
the other time limitations for refunds and assessment. 
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified. 
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
 
Date: 2/1/2016 JPJ 
HB877F161 
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