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Driving commercial vehicle while intoxicated

[ ] Engrossed
[ ] Enrolled

The proposed legislation makes the following changes in the penalty provisions for a
conviction a commercial vehicle while intoxicated:

Current Law

HB 1622

First offense

Class 1 misdemeanor (up to
12 months in jail; up to
$2,500 fine)

Class 1 misdemeanor with
mandatory minimum fine of
$250

Blood alcohol level at
least 0.15, but not more
than 0.2

No enhancement

Mandatory minimum
sentence of 5 days in jail

Blood alcohol level
more than 0.02

No enhancement

Mandatory minimum
sentence of 10 days in jail

Second offense less than 5
years from first offense

Class 1 misdemeanor; fine of
$200-$2,500; 1-12 months in
jail; 5 days mandatory
minimum

Class 1 misdemeanor;
mandatory minimum fine of
$500; 1-12 months in jail; 20
days mandatory minimum

Second offense, within 5-10
years of prior offense

Class 1 misdemeanor; fine of
$200-$2,500; 1-12 months in
jail

Class 1 misdemeanor;
mandatory minimum fine of
$500; 1-12 months in jail; 10
days mandatory minimum

Second offense within 10
years of prior offense

Blood alcohol level of No provision Additional mandatory

0.15 to 0.20 minimum sentence of 10
days. Mandatory minimum
fine of $500.

Blood alcohol level of No provision Additional mandatory

more than 0.20

minimum sentence of 20
days; mandatory minimum
fine of $500.




10.

Third offense within 10-
year period

Class 1 misdemeanor; fine of
$200-$2,500; 2-12 months in
jail

Class 6 felony ( up to months
injail or 1 to 5 years in
prison); 90 days mandatory
minimum sentence in jail

Third offense within
less than five years

30 days mandatory minimum
sentence in jail

6 months mandatory
minimum sentence in jails;
$1,000 mandatory minimum
fine

Third offense within
5-10 years of first
offense

10 days mandatory minimum
sentence in jail

No provision

Fourth offense or
subsequent offense within
10-year period

Same as third offense

Class 6 felony; mandatory
minimum term of 1 year in
prison; mandatory minimum
fine of $1,000

Subsequent DUI after prior
conviction of DUI or DUI-
related manslaughter or
maiming statutes

No provision

Class 6 felony; mandatory
minimum sentence of 1 year
in prison; mandatory
minimum fine of $1,000

Any conviction of DUI
while transporting a person
17 years of age or younger

No provision

Additional minimum fine of
$500 and not more than
$1,000; 5 days mandatory
minimum sentence in jail.

Furthermore, the proposed legislation directs that mandatory minimum sentences
imposed pursuant to its provisions shall be cumulative and served consecutively.

Budget Amendment Necessary: None.

Fiscal Implications:

The proposed legislation amends the penalties for driving a commercial vehicle while
intoxicated to mirror the penalties currently set out in another statute for driving a motor
vehicle while intoxicated. Because attorneys for the Commonwealth have the discretion to
use the existing statutes governing the operation of a motor vehicle to prosecute a person for
operating a commercial vehicle while intoxicated under, it is not anticipated that the
legislation will have an effect on the need for jail or prison bed space.

Accordingly, pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Criminal
Sentencing Commission estimates a fiscal impact of $0.

Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: None.

Technical Amendment Necessary: None.

Other Comments: None.
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