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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2017 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron Jennifer B. Boysko 2. Bill Number HB 1593 
  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Finance  X Introduced 
   Substitute 
    Engrossed 
4.  Title Retail Sales and Use Tax; Feminine 

Products 
 

  Second House: 
   In Committee 
   Substitute 
   Enrolled 
 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would provide an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for toilet paper, 
adult diapers, sanitary napkins, sanitary towels, sanitary pads, tampons, and menstrual 
cups.  Under current law, these items are subject to the Retail Sales and Use Tax. 
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  Yes. 
Page 1, Revenue Estimates 
 

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Preliminary.  (See Line 8.) 
 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs Impact 
 
The Department considers implementation of this bill as “routine” and does not require 
additional funding. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
The exemption proposed in this bill is estimated to reduce state and local revenues by 
$21.7 million in Fiscal Year 2018, $24.1 million in Fiscal Year 2019, $24.6 million in Fiscal 
Year 2020, $25.2 million in Fiscal Year 2021, $25.7 million in Fiscal Year 2022 and $26.2 
million in Fiscal Year 2023.  The proposed exemption would result in losses to the 
General Fund, Transportation, and localities, which are reflected through Fiscal Year 2021 
in the following chart: 
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HB 1593 Exempts Personal Hygiene Products from the Sales and Use Tax 
Effective July 1, 2017 

    (all figures in dollars) 
    

     Fund FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 

     State Sales and Use Tax (5.3%)  ($ 20,247,000)   ($ 22,551,000)  ($ 23,025,000)   ($ 23,531,000)  
   GF-Unrestricted  ($ 8,685,000)  ($ 9,674,000)   ($ 9,877,000)   ($ 10,094,000)  
   GF-Restricted  ($ 4,276,000)   ($ 4,762,000)   ($ 4,862,000)   ($ 4,969,000)  
   Transportation*  ($ 3,068,000)   ($ 3,417,000)   ($ 3,489,000)   ($ 3,565,000)  
   Local Option ($ 3,835,000)   ($ 4,271,000)   ($ 4,361,000)   ($ 4,457,000)  
   HMOF (GF transfer) ($ 383,000)   ($ 427,000)   ($ 436,000)   ($ 446,000)  

     Regional Trans. Funds (0.7%)  ($ 1,419,000)   ($ 1,581,000)  ($ 1,613,000)   ($ 1,649,000)  
   Hampton Roads (TPO)  ($ 491,000)   ($ 547,000)   ($ 558,000)  ($ 570,000)  
   Northern Virginia (NVTA)  ($ 928,000)   ($ 1,034,000)   ($ 1,055,000)   ($ 1,079,000)  

     Total Sales and Use Tax   ($ 21,666,000)   ($ 24,132,000)   ($ 24,638,000)   ($  25,180,000)  
          
*Includes 0.5% TTF, 0.175% HMOF, 0.050% IPROCF, and 0.075% Mass Transit Fund. 

 
9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   

 
Department of Taxation 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No. 
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Generally 
 
The Retail Sales and Use Tax is imposed upon the charge for the sale or use of tangible 
personal property, unless an exemption applies.  Virginia law defines “tangible personal 
property” as personal property that may be seen, weighed, measured, felt, or touched, or 
is in any other manner perceptible to the senses. 
 
Current law exempts from the Retail Sales and Use Tax both prescription and 
nonprescription drugs.  Nonprescription drugs include any substances or mixture of 
substances containing medicines or drugs, for which no prescription is required and which 
are generally sold for internal or topical use in the cure, mitigation, treatment or prevention 
of disease in human beings.  The exemption also applies to proprietary medicines, 
defined as any nonprescription drug sold to the general public under the brand name or 
trade name of the manufacturer, which drug does not contain any controlled substance or 
marijuana.  Although the nonprescription drugs exemption applies to a number of items 
that commonly may not be considered drugs, such as medicated bandages and gauze, 
toilet articles, including sanitary napkins, tampons, and similar items, are excluded from 
the nonprescription drug classification. 
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Other States 
 
Of the 45 states that impose a sales and use tax, eight states exempt feminine hygiene 
products from the tax: Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Pennsylvania 
and Connecticut (beginning June 1, 2018), Illinois (beginning Jan. 1, 2017) and New York 
(beginning Sept. 1, 2016).  Three of the states (Connecticut, Illinois, and New York) 
enacted the exemption in 2016.  Washington, D.C., also passed legislation to exempt 
feminine hygiene products and diapers from the sales tax.  The exemption will not take 
effect until the projected revenue loss is accounted for in its annual budget.  The 
California State Assembly recently passed legislation to exempt feminine hygiene 
products, but the bill was vetoed by the Governor.   
 
A class-action lawsuit was filed in 2016 alleging that the Florida sales tax on feminine 
hygiene products discriminates against women.  Florida currently exempts “medical 
necessities,” which does not include feminine hygiene products, from the sales tax.  
Legislation was recently introduced in the Florida to exempt such products from the sales 
tax. 
 
Proposal 
 
This bill would provide an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for toilet paper, 
adult diapers, sanitary napkins, sanitary towels, sanitary pads, tampons, and menstrual 
cups.   
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified. 
 
Similar Legislation 
 
House Bill 2189 would add feminine hygiene products to the list of items that qualify for 
exemption during the sales tax holiday for school supplies and clothing.  The bill would 
also extend the sunset date for the sales tax holiday for school supplies and clothing from 
July 1, 2017 to July 1, 2019. 
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
 
Date: 1/15/2017 AM 
DLAS File Name:  HB 1593F161 
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