SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 106

Commending the Graham High School competition cheer team.

Agreed to by the Senate, January 26, 2017

WHEREAS, the Graham High School competition cheer team made history by claiming the program's first state title, winning the Virginia High School League Group 2A state championship on November 5, 2016, at the Siegel Center in Richmond; and

WHEREAS, the Graham High School competition cheer team was undefeated during the season, winning three invitational matches, the Conference 39 championship, and the Group 2A West regional championship; and

WHEREAS, the Graham High School competition cheer team was one of eight teams competing in the state final, becoming the first school west of the Roanoke area to win a state title since competitive cheering was introduced in Group 2A in 1998; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia High School League named Debra Brewster, the head coach of the Graham High School competition cheer team, as Coach of the Year, and team captain Carson Cooper was named Group 2A Cheerleader of the Year; and

WHEREAS, the Graham High School competition cheer team's successful season is a testament to the hard work and dedication of the student-athletes, the leadership of the coaches and staff, and the enthusiastic support of the entire Graham High School community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate of Virginia, That the Graham High School competition cheer team hereby be commended on winning the Virginia High School League Group 2A state championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Debra Brewster, head coach of the Graham High School competition cheer team, as an expression of the Senate of Virginia's admiration for the team's exceptional athletic performance and best wishes for the future.