2017 SESSION

17105629D

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 437

Offered February 20, 2017

3 Commending the Salem High School football team.

Patrons-Suetterlein; Delegates: Habeeb and Rasoul

5 WHEREAS, the Salem High School football team continued to dominate the Group 4A gridiron in
7 2016, by winning their second consecutive and eighth overall Virginia High School League state
8 championship trophy; and

9 WHEREAS, the Salem High School Spartans defeated the previously unbeaten Dinwiddie High
10 School Generals 31-27 in a thrilling four-quarter battle on December 10, 2016, in Williamsburg; and

WHEREAS, Salem Spartans senior fullback Riley Fox scored the game-winning touchdown on a
 fourth-and-1 call with 50 seconds left in the game, capping an amazing 80-yard drive that featured 16
 plays and lasted eight and a half minutes; and

WHEREAS, Salem Spartans senior quarterback Noah Beckley kept the winning drive alive with a fourth-down, scrambling, tackle-breaking, pinballing 1-yard gain that will go down in Salem High
School football history as one of the greatest clutch plays ever; and

WHEREAS, senior quarterback Noah Beckley completed 20 of 24 passes for 254 total yards and twotouchdowns and helped the team convert 11 of 15 third downs in the game; and

19 WHEREAS, junior receiver Viante Tucker caught eight passes for 141 yards and the Salem Spartans'20 offense ended the game with 477 total yards; and

WHEREAS, Noah Beckley, Josie Staples, Viante Tucker, Nate Craft, and Riley Fox were named to
 the VHSL Group 4A All-State football team, and Noah Beckley and Riley Fox won Offensive Player of
 the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors, respectively; and

WHEREAS, all members of the Salem Spartans team contributed to the championship victory and outstanding season through their hard work and dedication to excellence both on the field and off; and

WHEREAS, the Salem Spartans ended the 2016 season with a 13-1 record, and the championship
 victory marked the 41st win in the last three years for the team, making the Spartans an astounding 64-6
 over the last five seasons; and

WHEREAS, the Salem Spartans football team dominate their opponents on the field under the
leadership of Coach Stephen Magenbauer, the VHSL Coach of the Year in 2015 and 2016, who
produces a team of great players year after year and has now won four state championships during his
13-year tenure at Salem High School; and

WHEREAS, Salem High School has won state football championships in 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000,
2004, 2005, 2015, and 2016; the Salem Spartans could not have won their most recent back-to-back
titles without the unconditional support of the school's committed student body, faculty and staff, and
the intensity and passion of their fans in the greater Salem community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby
 commend the Salem High School football team on winning their second consecutive and eighth overall
 Virginia High School League Group 4A state championship in 2016; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for
presentation to Stephen Magenbauer, coach of the Salem High School football team, as an expression of
the General Assembly's admiration for the team's significant accomplishments as a top football
powerhouse in the Commonwealth.

INTRODUCED

2 3

2/21/22 0:55

1