HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 605

Commending the Town of Tazewell.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 13, 2017 Agreed to by the Senate, January 19, 2017

WHEREAS, the exploration of the area known today as Tazewell dates to the early 1700s when groups of hunters from eastern Virginia first explored the areas that are now Southwest Virginia; and

WHEREAS, in 1773, William Peery and Samuel Ferguson settled the area that would become the Town of Tazewell; and

WHEREAS, in 1800, the General Assembly established the seat of a new Virginia county, Tazewell County, on land provided by William Peery; and

WHEREAS, the county seat was named in honor of the country's third President Thomas Jefferson, who that year had received every vote cast by the citizens in the area that would become known as Jeffersonville; the Town of Jeffersonville was incorporated in 1866; and

WHEREAS, on February 29, 1892, the Town of Jeffersonville was renamed the Town of Tazewell by the General Assembly because the locality was commonly referred to as "Tazewell Court House," causing considerable confusion; and

WHEREAS, the Town of Tazewell currently has an energetic and proud community that is conscious of their rich history and captivating natural surroundings; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Town of Tazewell on the occasion of the 125th anniversary of the naming of the town; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the Mayor of the Town of Tazewell as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the Town of Tazewell's storied history and contributions to the Commonwealth.