VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 2017 SESSION

CHAPTER 218

An Act to amend and reenact §§ 1 and 2, as amended, of Chapter 66 of the Acts of Assembly of 1960, relating to Hampton Roads Sanitation District; adding territory.

[S 1311]

Approved February 23, 2017

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 1. That §§ 1 and 2, as amended, of Chapter 66 of the Acts of Assembly of 1960 are amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 1. The creation of the Hampton Roads Sanitation District is hereby ratified, validated and confirmed, and said District shall embrace all the territory within the Cities of Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg; the Counties of Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, King and Queen, King William, Mathews, Middlesex and York; *the County of Surry, excluding the Town of Claremont*; and the Town of Urbanna. Territory may be added to the District as hereinafter provided in this act.

For the purpose of this section, the territory of a county included within the District shall include all the territory lying within the boundaries of any town in the county *unless otherwise specified*.

Said District shall constitute a political subdivision of Commonwealth established as a governmental instrumentality to provide for the public health and welfare.

§ 2. The functions, affairs and property of the Hampton Roads Sanitation District shall be managed and controlled by a commission, known as the "Hampton Roads Sanitation District Commission," consisting of eight members appointed by the Governor. The Commission and the term of each such member shall continue until his successor shall be duly appointed and qualified. The successor of each such member shall be appointed for a term of four years and until his successor shall be duly appointed and qualified, except that any person appointed to fill a vacancy shall serve only for the unexpired term. Any member of the Commission shall be eligible for reappointment without limitation as to the number of terms that may be served. Members of the Commission may be suspended or removed by the Governor at his pleasure.

At the time of their appointment, one of the members of the Commission, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Norfolk, one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Virginia Beach_{τ}; one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Newport News; one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Hampton, one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Chesapeake,; one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Suffolk or Isle of Wight County; or Surry County; one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Williamsburg or James City County or York County or the City of Poquoson or Gloucester County or King William County or Mathews County or Middlesex County or the Town of Urbanna, or King and Queen County,; and one of the members, and each of his successors, shall be residents of the territory in the District within the City of Portsmouth. Any member who shall cease to reside within the territory from which he was appointed shall thereupon be disqualified from holding office as a member of the Commission and the vacancy thus created shall be filled by appointment by the Governor for the balance of the unexpired term.