SEARCH SITE

Search FAQs

VIRGINIA LAW PORTAL

SEARCHABLE DATABASES

ACROSS SESSIONS

Developed and maintained by the Division of Legislative Automated Systems.

2016 SESSION

  • | print version

SB 610 Concealed handgun permits, out-of-state; photo identification issued by government agency, etc.

Introduced by: Bryce E. Reeves | Jill Holtzman Vogel | all patrons    ...    notes | add to my profiles

SUMMARY AS PASSED: (all summaries)

Recognition of out-of-state concealed handgun permits; photo identification. Provides that the holder of an out-of-state concealed handgun permit who is at least 21 years of age is authorized to carry a concealed handgun in Virginia if (i) the other state has a 24-hour-a-day means of verification of the validity of the permits issued in that state, if available; (ii) the person carries a government-issued photo identification and displays it upon demand of a law-enforcement officer; and (iii) the person has not previously had a Virginia concealed handgun permit revoked. The bill requires the Superintendent of State Police (Superintendent) to enter into agreements for reciprocal recognition with other states that require an agreement to be in place before the state will recognize a Virginia concealed handgun permit as valid in the state. The bill provides that if the Superintendent determines that another state requires the Attorney General to execute or formally approve such agreement, the Attorney General will execute or approve such agreement within 30 days of written notification by the Superintendent that the Attorney General is required to execute or approve such agreement. Current law recognizes concealed handgun permits issued by states that (a) provide a 24-hour-a-day means of verification of the validity of the permits issued in that state and (b) have requirements and qualifications that are adequate to prevent possession of a permit by persons who would be denied a permit in Virginia. In addition, the bill requires the Superintendent, within 60 days of the effective date of the bill, to enter into agreements for reciprocal recognition of concealed handgun permits or licenses with other states where agreements were in existence on December 1, 2015. The bill incorporates SB 616, SB 699, and SB 764 and is identical to HB 1163.


FULL TEXT

HISTORY