Department of Planning and Budget
2016 Fiscal Impact Statement

. Bill Number: SBS§S8
House of Origin  [X| Introduced [] Substitute [] Engrossed
Second House [ ] InCommittee [ | Substitute [ ] Enrolled

. Patron: Marsden
. Committee: Commerce and Labor
. Title: Minimum wage; increases wage from its current federally mandated level.

. Summary: Increases the minimum wage from its current federally mandated level of $7.25
per hour to $8.00 per hour effective July 1, 2016, to $9.00 per hour effective July 1, 2017,
and to $10.10 per hour effective July 1, 2018, unless a higher minimum wage is required by
the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The measure does not provide that the Virginia
minimum wage applies to persons whose employment is covered by the FLSA. The measure
also provides that the cash wage paid to a tipped employee shall not be less than 50 percent
of the minimum wage and that the tip credit shall equal the difference between the cash wage
required to be paid to a tipped employee and the minimum wage.

. Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes, Item 115 (HB30/SB30). See Item 8, below.

. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary.

7a. Expenditure Impact:

Fiscal Year Dollars Positions Fund
2016 0
2017 $476,945 5.0 GF
2018 $476,945 5.0 GF
2019 $476,945 5.0 GF
2020 $476,945 5.0 GF
2021 $476,945 5.0 GF
2022 $476,945 5.0 GF

Other State Agencies Expenditure Impact:

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund
2016 N/A
2017 $40,112 N/A GF/NGF
2018 $284,750 N/A GF/NGF
2019 $966,246 N/A GF/NGF
2020 $966,246 N/A GF/NGF
2021 $966,246 N/A GF/NGF

2022 $966,246 N/A GF/NGF



10.

11.

8. Fiscal Implications: The first table above reflects the bill’s anticipated impact to the
Department of Labor and Industry for costs related to enforcing the provisions of this bill. It
is anticipated that the proposed bill also could have a fiscal impact to state agencies, as the
proposed increase to the minimum wage would affect the current salaries of some state
employees.

The federal Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division enforces the federal minimum
wage laws. If the minimum wage in Virginia is raised above the federal minimum wage, the
Labor Law Division in the Department of Labor and Industry would have to begin enforcing
the new minimum wage for Virginia employees beginning July 1, 2016. Currently, the Labor
Law Division conducts very few inspections into allegations of Virginia Minimum Wage law
as the federal law covers almost all employees in the state.

Due to federal oversight of almost all employees in the state, the federal Department of
Labor’s Wage and Hour Division conducts inspections of alleged violations of the minimum
wage laws and averages about 750 inspections per year. If this bill is approved and increases
the minimum wage above the federal mandate, then the Commonwealth will be responsible
for minimum wage compliance. The Department of Labor and Industry anticipates it will
have to conduct the same number of inspections as the federal Department of Labor’s Wage
and Hour Division (750 inspections per year). In order to meet this workload, the Department
of Labor and Industry will need five additional staff to enforce the increased minimum wage
(four additional officer positions to conduct inspections and one assistant compliance officer
to assist and support the inspection activities). The Department of Labor and Industry’s
impact is for regulatory enforcement of the bill.

Based on data provided by the Department of Human Resource Management, the increase
that would be effective on July 1, 2016, would affect approximately 60 salaried employees
and would have an expenditure impact of $40,112. The increase that would be effective on
July 1, 2017, would affect approximately 247 salaried employees and have an expenditure
impact of $284,750. The increase that would be effective on July 1, 2018, would affect
approximately 806 salaried employees and have an expenditure impact of $966,246. These
estimates are based on current salaries for current employees.

The second table above reflects the anticipated impact to state agencies based on the number
of salaried employees. Estimates are not available for any effect the bill would have on wage
employees and are not included. The general fund and nongeneral fund split for these
estimates is not available.

Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Department of Labor and Industry;
Department of Human Resource Management; all state agencies.

Technical Amendment Necessary: No.

Other Comments: Similar to SB129. SB129 does not provide minimum wage requirements
for tipped employees.



