Department of Planning and Budget 2016 Fiscal Impact Statement

1.	Bill Number:	SB 49)				
	House of Origin		Introduced	\square	Substitute	\boxtimes	Engrossed
	Second House		In Committee		Substitute		Enrolled
2.	Patron: H	owell					

3. Committee: Passed Senate, not yet assigned to House committee

4. Title: Protective orders

5. Summary:

Under current law, it is a Class 1 misdemeanor for any person subject to a protective order to purchase or transport any firearm.

The proposed legislation would make it a Class 6 felony for any person subject to a protective order issued by a court in a case of family abuse to possess any firearm. Any person subject to the provision shall have 24 hours after being served with the protective order transport any firearm he or she possess for the purpose of selling it or giving it to someone else.

The legislation also includes the following provisions:

- Concealed handgun permit—Prohibits the issuance of a concealed handgun permit to anyone subject to a protective order and prohibited from possessing a firearm.
- Gun dealer employees—Prohibits a gun dealer from employing as a seller of firearms anyone prohibited from possessing a firearm as a result of being subject to a protective order.
- Reciprocal agreements—Requires the Attorney General, within 60 days of the effective date of the legislation, to enter into agreements for reciprocal recognition of concealed handgun permits or licenses with states where such agreements were in existence as of December 1, 2015; otherwise the provisions of the legislation would not become effective.
- 6. Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes. Item 394.
- 7. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary. See Item 8 below.

Expenditure Impact:

Fiscal Year	Dollars	Fund
2017	\$50,000	General

2018	\$0	
2019	\$0	
2020	\$0	
2021	\$0	
2022	\$0	

8. Fiscal Implications:

For someone convicted of a Class 6 felony, a judge has the option of sentencing him to up to one year in jail, or 1 to 5 years in prison. Therefore, this proposal could result in an increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail or prison.

There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional inmates in jail could result from this proposal. Ultimately, the presiding judge will decide if there is to be any time served in jail; however, any increase in jail population will increase costs to the state. The Commonwealth presently pays the localities \$4.00 a day for each misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail and \$12.00 a day for each state responsible inmate. It also funds a considerable portion of the jails' operating costs, e.g. correctional officers. The state's share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies from locality to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board's most recent Jail Cost Report (November 2015), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged \$32.24 per inmate, per day in FY 2014.

Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined. In such cases, Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly requires that a minimum impact of \$50,000 be assigned to the bill.

Included in the Governor's introduced budget bill is an appropriation for \$300,000 intended for the fiscal impact of legislation projected to result in an increase in the need for prison bed space.

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:

Attorney General Department of Corrections Compensation Board Circuit courts Local and regional jails

10. Technical Amendment Necessary: None.

11. Other Comments: Identical to HB 1391

Date: 2/9/2016 Document: G:\LEGIS\fis-16\sb49s2.docx Dick Hall-Sizemore