
Department of Planning and Budget 
2016 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 

1. Bill Number:   HB963 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: LaRock 

 

3.  Committee: Courts of Justice 

 

4. Title: Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act; penalty. 

 

5. Summary:  Creates the Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act. The Act prohibits an 

abortion after 20 weeks gestation unless, in reasonable medical judgment, the mother has a 

condition that so complicates her medical condition as to necessitate the abortion to avert her 

death or to avert serious risk of substantial and irreversible physical impairment of a major 

bodily function. When an abortion is not prohibited post-20 weeks' gestation, the physician is 

required to terminate the pregnancy in a manner that would provide the unborn child the best 

opportunity to survive. The bill punishes performance of an abortion in violation of the Act 

as a Class 4 felony. The bill also provides for civil remedies against a physician who 

performs an abortion in violation of the Act. 

 

6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes. 

  

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary, see item #8. 

7a. Expenditure Impact:   
Fiscal Year Dollars Positions Fund 

2016 $75,200 0 General 

 

8. Fiscal Implications:  The total impact this bill will have on the Commonwealth cannot be 

determined at this time and any fiscal implications are preliminary.  

 

 This bill will require the State Registrar to revise the Induced Termination of Pregnancy 

(ITOP) form and to make changes to the online application where this information is stored. 

Expenditure estimates are based on the cost of these changes of $25,200 (280 hours at $90 

per hour).  

 

 For someone convicted of a Class 4 felony, a judge has the option of sentencing him to up to 

2 to 10 years in prison.  Therefore, this proposal could result in an increase in the number of 

persons sentenced to prison. 

 

 Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, 

pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on 



state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.  In such cases, Chapter 665 of the 

2015 Acts of Assembly requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Health. 

  

10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No. 

  

11. Other Comments:  None. 


