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Department of Planning and Budget
2016 Fiscal Impact Statement

Bill Number: HB 284
X Introduced

[] In Committee

[] Substitute
[] Substitute

House of Origin

Second House

Patron: Collins

. Committee: House Courts of Justice

Title: Distribution of a controlled substance

Summary:

[ ] Engrossed
[ ] Enrolled

The proposed legislation would establish as a Class 5 felony the distribution of a
Schedule I or II controlled substance where the use of the substance by another person results
in such other person’s overdose, defined as a life-threatening condition. The legislation
would provide an affirmative defense to prosecution if the accused person sought or obtained
medical attention for the person with the overdose, remained at the scene until medical and
law-enforcement personnel arrived, and cooperated in the investigation.

Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes. Item 394.

Expenditure Impact:

. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary. See Item 8 below.

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund
2017 $50,000 General
2018 $0
2019 $0
2020 $0
2021 $0
2022 $0

Fiscal Implications:

A person convicted of a Class 5 felony is subject to a sentence of up to 12 months in jail
or 1 to 10 years in prison. Therefore, this proposal could result in an increase in the number

of persons sentenced to jail or prison.
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There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional
inmates in jail could result from this proposal. Ultimately, the presiding judge will decide if
there is to be any time served in jail; however, any increase in jail population will increase
costs to the state. The Commonwealth presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each
misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail. It also funds most of the
jails’ operating costs, e.g. correctional officers. The state’s share of these costs on a per
prisoner, per day basis varies from locality to locality. However, according to the
Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report (November 2015), the estimated total
state support for local jails averaged $32.24 per inmate, per day in FY 2014.

Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded,
pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on
state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined. In such cases, Chapter 665 of the
2015 Acts of Assembly requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill.

Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:
Department of Corrections

Compensation Board

Local and regional jails.

Technical Amendment Necessary: None.

Other Comments: None.
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