HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 386

Commending the Patrick Henry College moot court team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 4, 2016 Agreed to by the Senate, March 10, 2016

WHEREAS, the Patrick Henry College moot court team claimed its record-setting ninth national title, winning the American Collegiate Moot Court Association national championship in 2016; and

WHEREAS, during the 2015 - 2016 moot court season, the Patrick Henry College moot court team was one of 400 teams from prestigious schools throughout the country competing for a spot in the national finals; and

WHEREAS, Caleb Engel and Christopher Baldacci took first place in the final round, held on January 16, 2016, in Long Beach, California, to claim the ninth national championship in 12 years for Patrick Henry College; and

WHEREAS, in the national finals, Patrick Henry College placed seven teams among the top 32, five teams among the top 16, and three teams among the top eight; Jacob Van Ness and Ashlyn Olson of Patrick Henry College took second place; and

WHEREAS, each other member of the team—Claire Atwood, William Bock, Ryan Collins, Samuel Cordle, Clare Downing, Sarah Geesaman, Ryan McDonald, Ruan Meintjes, Meridian Paulton, Shane Roberts, Siu Thomas, Jeremy Tija, and Josh Webb—contributed to the successful season; and

WHEREAS, the Patrick Henry moot court team excelled with the support of its coaches and advisers and the enthusiastic support of the entire Patrick Henry College community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Patrick Henry College moot court team on winning the American Collegiate Moot Court Association national championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Michael Farris and Frank Guliuzza, coaches of the Patrick Henry College moot court team, as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the team's achievements and best wishes for the future.