## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 337**

Commending Springfield Baptist Church.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 26, 2016 Agreed to by the Senate, March 3, 2016

WHEREAS, in 2016, Springfield Baptist Church celebrates 150 years of outstanding spiritual leadership, generous outreach to the Appomattox community, and opportunities for joyful worship in the Baptist tradition; and

WHEREAS, Springfield Baptist Church traces its roots to October 20, 1866, when African American members of Liberty Chapel, led by Albert Thornhill, petitioned to withdraw from the church and form

their own congregation; and

WHEREAS, the Reverend Albert Johnson was ordained and became the first pastor of Springfield Baptist Church; over the years the church has benefited from the able leadership of Reverend Gaberial Palmer, Reverend William James Johnson, Reverend William Alexander Bland, Reverend Walker Jones, Reverend Phillip Major Morgan, Reverend Edwards, Reverend McKinley Kain, and Reverend J. P. Rose; and

WHEREAS, the Reverend Harrison J. Kelso, who had previously served as assistant pastor, was elected as pastor of Springfield Baptist Church in 1981, and with his wisdom and guidance, the church has reaffirmed its commitment to ministry; and

WHEREAS, members of Springfield Baptist Church are active leaders in the community, and the congregation works to enhance the quality of life of all residents of Appomattox County; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend Springfield Baptist Church on the occasion of its 150th anniversary; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the Reverend Harrison J. Kelso, pastor of Springfield Baptist Church, as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the church's legacy of service to the Appomattox community.