HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 524

Commending Intermont Equestrian at Emory & Henry College.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, August 17, 2015

WHEREAS, Intermont Equestrian at Emory & Henry College claimed its second consecutive national title, winning the Intercollegiate Dressage Association national championship in April 2015; and

WHEREAS, the victory was the fifth Intercollegiate Dressage Association title for Intermont Equestrian at Emory & Henry College and the 18th championship for the team overall; and

WHEREAS, Intermont Equestrian at Emory & Henry College narrowly defeated its regional rivals from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University at the national championship, which was held at Otterbein University in Ohio; and

WHEREAS, junior Bailey Halverson finished second in the upper training level, sophomore Nick Martino finished third in the first level, junior Karissa Donohue finished fourth in the lower training level, and freshman Eli Worth-Jones finished fourth in the introductory level to give the team an overall score of 39; and

WHEREAS, during the individual competition, Bailey Halverson was the reserve champion in the upper training level, Karissa Donohue placed eighth in the lower training level, Nick Martino finished 12th in the first level, and senior Morgan Sollenberger finished 12th in the lower training level; and

WHEREAS, Intermont Equestrian at Emory & Henry College succeeded thanks to the hard work and dedication of the riders, the able guidance of the coaches and staff, and the enthusiastic support of the Emory & Henry College community; now, therefore, be it

RÉSOLVED by the House of Delegates, That Intermont Equestrian at Emory & Henry College hereby be commended on winning the 2015 Intercollegiate Dressage Association national championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Lisa Moosmueller-Terry, head coach of Intermont Equestrian at Emory & Henry College, as an expression of the House of Delegates' admiration for the riders' achievements and best wishes for the future.