Department of Planning and Budget
2015 Fiscal Impact Statement

1. Bill Number: SB 712
House of Origin  [X| Introduced [] Substitute [] Engrossed
Second House [ ] InCommittee [ | Substitute [ ] Enrolled

2. Patron: Richard H. Black
3. Committee: Education and Health

4. Title: Requires faculty, administrators, and full-time staff of Virginia colleges and
universities to report information regarding sexual assaults to law enforcement
agencies, and creates a penalty for not reporting.

5. Summary: Requires any faculty member, administrator, or full-time staff member
employed by a public institution of higher education who through the course of his
employment obtains information alleging that a criminal sexual assault has occurred to report
within 48 hours such information to law enforcement. The bill provides that a person in
violation of the reporting requirement is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Attorneys and
religious officials, who obtain relevant information in the course of providing legal
representation or official religious duties, are exempt from the provisions of the bill.

6. Budget Amendment Necessary: No.
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Indeterminate. See item 8.

8. Fiscal Implications: Although insufficient data exists to determine the fiscal impact due to
this proposal, the proposed legislation could result in an increase in the jail population since
Class 1 misdemeanor outcomes result in sentences of up to 12 months in jail (and a fine up to
$2,500). Any increase in jail population will increase costs to the state. The Commonwealth
presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each misdemeanant or otherwise local
responsible prisoner held in a jail. It also funds a significant portion of the jails’ operating
costs, e.g. correctional officers. The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day
basis varies from locality to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s
FY2013 Jail Cost Report (November 1, 2014), the estimated total state support for local and
regional jails averaged $30.54 per state inmate, per day in FY 2013.

No direct fiscal impact is anticipated on Virginia’s public institutions of higher education
from this proposal.

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Virginia’s public institutions of higher
education, Compensation Board, local and regional jails, Virginia law enforcement agencies.

10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No.



11. Other Comments: This bill is similar to SB 734, except that SB 734 does not require full-
time staff of Virginia colleges and universities to report sexual assault, and allows only 24
hours rather than 48 hours to report such to local law enforcement. SB 734 does not exempt
attorneys and religious officials from the provisions of the bill if the information was
obtained through legal representation or through religious official duties.
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