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1. Bill Number:   HB736 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Lingamfelter 

 

3.  Committee: Militia, Police and Public Safety 

 

4. Title: Lifetime concealed handgun permits; Department of State Police to issue; penalty. 

 

5.  Summary:  The proposed legislation provides for the issuance of concealed handgun permits 

that do not expire to Virginia residents upon payment of a one-time fee of $100, except that the 

fee for a person currently holding an unexpired permit is $50. Currently, the fee for issuing such 

permits is $50, and the permits must be renewed every five years with an additional $50 fee 

charged each time.   

The bill also centralizes the issuance of concealed handgun permits with the Department of State 

Police, instead of current law which provides that the circuit court clerk for the jurisdiction where 

the applicant resides issues such permits. 

The bill also requires the Department of State Police to charge a fee of $25 for the issuance of a 

permit to certain retired non-Virginia law-enforcement personnel (currently no fee is charged), 

$200 for the issuance of a nonresident permit (currently $100), $10 for the issuance of a 

replacement permit (currently $10 due to an address change or $5 for a lost or destroyed permit), 

and $50 for the transference of a nonresident permit into a resident permit. 

Finally, the bill provides that any person who knowingly possesses a revoked or suspended 

permit is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor and is guilty of a Class 6 felony if he is simultaneously 

in possession of a concealed handgun. The bill does not alter current penalties for carrying a 

concealed handgun without a permit. The bill has a delayed effective date of January 1, 2015. 

 

6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes. Item 385. 

  

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Tentative. See Item 7a and 8. 

7a. Expenditure Impact:   
Fiscal Year Dollars Positions Fund 

2015     50,000 0.0 General Fund 

2016 0 0.0 General Fund 

2017 0 0.0 General Fund 

2018 0 0.0 General Fund 

2019 0 0.0 General Fund 

2020 0 0.0 General Fund 

 

8. Fiscal Implications:   
 



The proposed legislation would have a fiscal impact on the Department of State Police 

(Department) and would also affect the revenue collected under current law, due to the 

establishment of the new concealed handgun program and the issuance of concealed handgun 

permits.   

 

Currently, the Department collects $5 to cover its costs associated with processing the 

application for concealed handgun permits. The preliminary estimates provided below do not 

reflect the fees currently collected by the Department or clerks of the court for administering 

concealed handgun permits, but rather represent  an additional cost and revenue associated with 

the implementing the provision of the proposed legislation.  The estimates do not account for 

additional revenue that may be anticipated from the legislative proposal, as a result of issuing 

permits for out-of-state citizens, converting out-of- state permits into state permits, and replacing 

lost permits as existing data is insufficient. 

 

Due to the bill having a delayed effective day, the first year estimates for the revenue and cost 

reflect the delay as set out below.   

 

The first year start up cost to set up the program, hire personnel, purchase necessary equipment, 

issue permits, and pay for postal expenses is estimated at $4,150,000.   

 

According to the Department, the current estimated IT startup cost is $3,242,000 based on the 

estimate provided by an outside vendor.  However, the IT costs may decrease or increase 

depending on which vendor the Department selects for IT services after the bill is enacted. 
 

The first year revenue collected from converting existing concealed handgun permits and issuing 

new permits is estimated at $2,927,500.  

 

Thus, the net effect of implementing the legislative proposal in the first year is estimated at 

($1,222,500), which is the difference between the collected fees and costs incurred in that year. 

 

In the next four years, the net effect from the new program is estimated at $3,770,000. The 

annual cost of administering the program is estimated at $2,040,400, and the revenue generated 

from permit fees at $ 5,810,000 annually.  

 

After the five years of administering the program, annual revenue generated from the program is 

estimated at $900,000 provided that the program’s cost, the number of issued permits (approx. 

28,000 each year), and permit fees remain unchanged.  The anticipated fees collection is 

estimated at $2,660,000; and the program cost is estimated at $1,760,000 for the same time 

period. 

 

Since under the current law a portion of the $50 fee charged for issuing concealed handgun 

permit is collected by localities, the legislative proposal could have a negative impact on 

localities. It is estimated that the total annual fees collected by circuit court clerks and sheriffs for 

concealed handgun permits amount to $4,463,000 from approximately 100,000 permits issued 

per year.  

 

According to the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission’s fiscal impact statement for the 

proposed legislation, the impact of the legislation on state-responsible (prison) space cannot be 



determined.  In such cases, Chapter 806 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly requires that a minimum 

impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill.  

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of State Police, local law-

enforcement agencies, sheriffs, and court clerks. 

  

10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No. 

  

11. Other Comments:  This legislation is similar to SB608. 
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