## Department of Planning and Budget 2015 Fiscal Impact Statement

1.	Bill Number	er: HB2038						
	House of Orig	in 🗌	Introduced		Substitute	$\boxtimes$	Engrossed	
	<b>Second House</b>		In Committee		Substitute		Enrolled	
2.	Patron:	Patron: Filler-Corn						
3.	Committee: Transportation							
4.	Title:	Commercial motor carriers						

- **5. Summary:** This bill amends several motor carrier and commercial drivers' licensing laws, bringing Virginia into compliance with Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations amendments regarding commercial motor vehicles and exemptions regarding certain farm vehicles and their drivers. The bill lowers the age of eligibility for an escort vehicle driver certification from 21 to 18 years. The bill also authorizes two additional circumstances in which law enforcement may remove for-hire license plates: where the carrier's operating authority has expired and where the plates are being used on a leased vehicle and the bill makes all license plate removal optional at the discretion of the law-enforcement officer.
- 6. Budget Amendment Necessary: No.
- **7. No fiscal impact.** Preliminary. See #8.
- **8. Fiscal Implications:** According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, no fiscal impact to the state is anticipated from this proposal. The staff hours required to implement the provisions of this legislation can be accomplished during the normal agency work schedules.
- 9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Department of Motor Vehicles.
- 10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No.
- 11. Other Comments: The bill will bring Virginia into compliance with new Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) regulations. Failure to comply with the FMCSA could cause Virginia to lose its authority to issue commercial driver's licenses (CDLs), affecting 209,000 Virginia CDL holders.

Noncompliance also could result in a loss of funds that help support safety programs such as commercial driver and vehicle inspections, traffic enforcement, and public education and awareness under the federal Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act (MCSIA). For the first year of noncompliance, the FMCSA can withhold four percent of a state's annual apportionment of National Highway Performance Program and Surface Transportation Program funds. Virginia would stand to lose up to \$34.2 million in federal funds in the first year of noncompliance, and \$68.4 million each year thereafter.

**Date:** 2/23/15

**Document:** Janet Vogelgesang G:\14-16\2015 FIS\HB2038E.docx

c: Secretary of Transportation