Department of Planning and Budget 2015 Fiscal Impact Statement

1.	Bill Number	r: HB16	554				
	House of Orig	in 🖂	Introduced		Substitute		Engrossed
	Second House		In Committee		Substitute		Enrolled
2.	Patron:	Plum					
3.	Committee: Commerce and Labor						
4.	Title: Minimum wage; increases from its current federally mandated level to \$8.00 per						

- hour.
- **5. Summary:** Increases the minimum wage from its current federally mandated level of \$7.25 per hour to \$8.00 per hour effective July 1, 2015, and to \$9.00 per hour effective July 1, 2016, and to \$10.10 per hour effective July 1, 2017, unless a higher minimum wage is required by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
- 6. Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes, Item 110 (HB1400/SB800). See Item 8, below.
- 7. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary. See Item 8, below.

7a. Department of Labor and Industry Expenditure Impact:

Fiscal Year	Dollars	Positions	Fund
2015		0	
2016	\$468,568	5.0	GF
2017	\$468,568	5.0	GF
2018	\$468,568	5.0	GF
2018	\$468,568	5.0	GF
2020	\$468,568	5.0	GF
2021	\$468,568	5.0	GF

Other State Agencies Expenditure Impact:

Fiscal Year	Dollars	Positions	Fund
2015		N/A	
2016	\$69,727	N/A	GF/NGF
2017	\$575,785	N/A	GF/NGF
2018	\$2,493,580	N/A	GF/NGF
2018	\$2,493,580	N/A	GF/NGF
2020	\$2,493,580	N/A	GF/NGF
2021	\$2,493,580	N/A	GF/NGF

7b. Revenue Impact: None.

8. Fiscal Implications: The first table above reflects the bill's anticipated impact to the Department of Labor and Industry for costs related to enforcing the provisions of this bill. It is anticipated that the proposed bill also could have a fiscal impact to state agencies, as the

proposed increase to the minimum wage would affect the current salaries of some state employees.

The federal Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division enforces the federal minimum wage laws. If the minimum wage in Virginia is raised above the federal minimum wage, the Labor Law Division in the Department of Labor and Industry would have to begin enforcing the new minimum wage for Virginia employees beginning July 1, 2015. Currently, the Labor Law Division conducts very few inspections into allegations of Virginia Minimum Wage law as the federal law covers almost all employees in the state.

Due to federal oversight of almost all employees in the state, the federal Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division conducts inspections of alleged violations of the minimum wage laws and averages about 750 inspections per year. If this bill is approved and increases the minimum wage above the federal mandate, then the Commonwealth will be responsible for minimum wage compliance. The Department of Labor and Industry anticipates it will have to conduct the same number of inspections as the federal Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division (750 inspections per year). In order to meet this workload, the Department of Labor and Industry will need five (5) additional staff to enforce the increased minimum wage (four additional officer positions to conduct inspections and one assistant compliance officer to assist and support the inspection activities). The Department of Labor and Industry impact is for regulatory enforcement of the bill.

Based on data provided by the Department of Human Resource Management, the increase that would be effective on July 1, 2015, would affect approximately 88 salaried employees and would have an expenditure impact of \$69,727. The increase that would be effective on July 1, 2016, would affect approximately 412 salaried employees and have an expenditure impact of \$575,785. The increase that would be effective on July 1, 2017, would affect approximately 1,737 salaried employees and have an expenditure impact of \$2,493,580. These estimates are based on current salaries for current employees. Estimates are not available for any effect the bill would have on wage employees. These estimates are not included in the Expenditure Impact table, above. The general fund and nongeneral fund split for these estimates is not available.

- **9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:** Department of Labor and Industry; Department of Human Resource Management; all state agencies.
- 10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No.
- **11. Other Comments:** This bill is a companion bill to SB681, as introduced. Also, SB706 increases the minimum wage from its current federally mandated level of \$7.25 per hour to \$8.00 per hour effective July 1, 2015.