
Department of Planning and Budget 
2015 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 

1. Bill Number:   HB 1343 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Filler-Corn 

 

3.  Committee: Courts of Justice 

 

4. Title: Requires reporting to local attorneys for the Commonwealth of sexual assaults 

occurring on college or university property. 

 

5. Summary:  Requires that mutual aid agreements between campus police forces and law-

enforcement agencies contain provisions requiring either the campus police force or an 

agency with which it has established a mutual aid agreement to notify the local attorney for 

the Commonwealth of any investigation involving felony criminal sexual assault occurring 

on property owned or controlled by the institution of higher education within 48 hours of 

beginning such investigation. 

 

6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  No.  

  

7. No Fiscal Impact:  Preliminary.  

 

8. Fiscal Implications:  There is no anticipated fiscal impact from this legislation.  Institutions 

of higher education are currently required to establish mutual aid agreements with one or 

more law enforcement agencies.  The proposed legislation would add the requirement that 

those agreements include a provision that requires one of the agreeing law enforcement 

agencies to report felony criminal sexual assault investigations to local attorneys for the 

Commonwealth within 48 hours of the inception of such investigation, which can be done at 

no additional cost to the Commonwealth. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Virginia’s institutions of higher 

education, Commonwealth’s attorneys, Virginia public safety agencies.  

  

10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No.  

  

11. Other Comments:  This revision notes that this legislation is similar to HB 1785, except that 

this legislation refers to “felony criminal sexual assault” generally, whereas HB 1785 limits 

its provisions to reporting of “rape” as defined by §18.2-61 in the Code of Virginia.  
 

Date: 01/16/15 cmk 

Document: G:\HB1343.docx 

C: Secretary of Education 


