SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 61

Commending Eastside High School.

Agreed to by the Senate, January 15, 2015

WHEREAS, Eastside High School in Coeburn was named a national winner in the 2014 Celebrate My Drive safe driving awareness contest; and

WHEREAS, the students at Eastside High School won \$25,000 for their successful efforts to instill in new drivers the importance of staying aware and avoiding distractions; the Celebrate My Drive competition, which is sponsored by State Farm, awarded cash prizes to 100 schools across North America; and

WHEREAS, during the 2014 competition period, students at the school in Wise County were tasked with securing safe-driving commitments from as many teenagers as possible, ages 14 and older; the Celebrate My Drive program aims to instill safe driving awareness in young people who have just started driving; and

started driving; and
WHEREAS, Eastside High School was among the more than 3,000 schools in North America to take
part in the Celebrate My Drive program; the contest's upbeat and positive message aims to make safe
driving habits something that young drivers do routinely; and

WHEREAS, with the prize money, the students at Eastside High School plan to create a memorial honoring students and adults killed in automobile accidents; they also will hold a safe driving expo and attend the Virginia Model General Assembly to present driving legislation; and

WHEREAS, the senior class of Eastside High School plans to travel to Atlanta using part of the money from the Celebrate My Drive award, and the students are working on implementing safe driving activities for the school's junior/senior prom; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate of Virginia, That Eastside High School in Coeburn hereby be commended for winning \$25,000 in the 2014 Celebrate My Drive contest; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Bryan Crutchfield, interim principal of Eastside High School, as an expression of the Senate of Virginia's admiration and congratulations for the school's winning effort to instill a commitment to safe driving habits in the Commonwealth's youngest drivers.