## 15103854D

## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 321**

Offered February 3, 2015

Commending the Trinity Episcopal School football team.

Patrons—Watkins; Delegate: Loupassi

5 6

7

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17 18

19

20

21

22 23

24

26

27

29 30

31

32

33

34

35

36

**37** 

38

39

1

2

3

WHEREAS, on November 14, 2014, on a frozen football field in Charlottesville, the Trinity Episcopal School football team won the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association Division II state championship, completing the most successful football season in school history; and

WHEREAS, the third-ranked Titans from Trinity Episcopal School won the Virginia state title by

defeating the top-ranked Saints of St. Anne's-Belfield School 20-10; and

WHEREAS, in order to earn a berth in the state championship game, the Titans of Richmond travelled to Virginia Beach and defeated second-ranked Bishop Sullivan Catholic High School 37-21; and

WHEREAS, the Trinity Episcopal Titans used a strong defense, turnovers, and a potent ground game in their victory over the St. Anne's-Belfield Saints to capture their first state title; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Sam Mickens and the returning starters, who endured less successful seasons the previous two years, were rewarded for their perseverance and leadership with a state championship; and

WHEREAS, six members of the Titans were named First Team All-State: offensive lineman Jake Hogge, wide receiver Trevion Armstrong, halfback and defensive lineman Jack Freudenthal, linebacker Justin Jasper, defensive back Rimoni Dorsey, and quarterback and Division II Player of the Year Blake

WHEREAS, eight Trinity Episcopal football players were named to the Second Team and Honorable Mention All-State teams: wide receiver Jake Brown, offensive lineman Jack Cabell, offensive lineman Jake Chalkley, linebacker Stephen Traylor, defensive lineman Cody Gray, defensive back Zane Lewis, kicker Will Michael, and linebacker Trevor Taylor; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association awarded Head Coach Sam Mickens its 2014 Coach of the Year Award for the outstanding accomplishments of the Trinity Episcopal School football team; and

WHEREAS, the extraordinary performance of the 2014 Trinity Episcopal School football team has created a new level of excitement among the school's alumni, students, faculty, staff, and friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Trinity Episcopal School football team on winning the 2014 Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association Division II championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Sam Mickens, head coach of the Trinity Episcopal School football team, as an expression of the General Assembly's congratulations and admiration for the team's exceptional performance and historic success.