HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 862

Commending Jaclyn Roller Ryan.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 20, 2015 Agreed to by the Senate, February 25, 2015

WHEREAS, Jaclyn Roller Ryan, an outstanding educator in Shenandoah County, was named the 2015 Virginia Teacher of the Year on October 10, 2014, in Richmond; and

WHEREAS, presented by the Virginia Department of Education, the Virginia Teacher of the Year Award celebrates the achievements and contributions of one exceptional pre-kindergarten through eighth grade educator each year; and

WHEREAS, Jaclyn Ryan, an agricultural education teacher and Future Farmers of America (FFA) advisor at Signal Knob Middle School in Shenandoah County, was selected from among eight Regional Teacher of the Year Award winners; and

WHEREAS, representing Region 4, Jaclyn Ryan was interviewed by a committee that included representatives from professional associations, the business community, and a former Virginia Teacher of the Year recipient; and

WHEREAS, Jaclyn Ryan helps her students build a strong foundation for lifelong learning using innovative methods, and she has helped Signal Knob Middle School earn local, state, and national recognition for its FFA program; and

WHEREAS, Jaclyn Ryan received numerous commemorative gifts after winning the award, as well as opportunities to further her own education and a classroom technology package to help her better serve her students; and

WHEREAS, as Virginia Teacher of the Year, Jaclyn Ryan will represent the Commonwealth as a nominee for the Council of Chief State School Officers National Teacher of the Year Award, which will be presented at the White House in 2015; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend Jaclyn Roller Ryan on her selection as the 2015 Virginia Teacher of the Year; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Jaclyn Roller Ryan as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for her commitment to her students and contributions to the field of education.