HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 602

Commending the Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 23, 2015 Agreed to by the Senate, January 29, 2015

WHEREAS, capping off a record-breaking effort, the 2014 Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team of Henrico won its 11th Virginia High School League Group 5A championship—a state record—and with 20 wins and three losses, the team had its seventh consecutive season of at least 20 wins: and

WHEREAS, the talented members of the Eagles squad defeated a team from George C. Marshall High School; with a final score of 5 - 1, the Mills Godwin tennis team took home its ninth state title in 13 years, playing in its 13th consecutive state playoff match and achieving a playoff record of 34 - 4; and

WHEREAS, the Mills Godwin girls' tennis team won its 15th consecutive regional championship by defeating Maury High School 5 - 0, and only lost three games in the regional finals match; during the state tournament, the Eagles achieved a combined 10 - 2 score, winning each match 5 - 1; in total the team won 156 of 187 individual matches for an 83.4 percent winning record; and

WHEREAS, the 2014 victory was entirely a group effort, as no member of the Mills Godwin tennis team won an individual title during the group's successful march to the crown; and

WHEREAS, all members of the 2014 Godwin team—Dharani Atluri, Anna Brodzik, Jackie Dillon, Elizabeth Dudley, Virginia Duley, Katie Fitzsimmons, Morgan Fuqua, Emily Hutchinson, Madeline Johann, Sophie Linnell, AJ Lukanuski, Jessica Marks, Ara McCarty, Meghann Neale, Keerthana Shankar, Anna Sidhu, Lucy Smith, and Sammie Townsend—contributed to the team's winning season; and

WHEREAS, seniors Jackie Dillon, Katie Fitzsimmons, Emily Hutchinson, Madeline Johann, Sophie Linnell, and AJ Lukanuski share three district championships, four regional championships, two state finalist designations, and two state titles, for an unparalleled 82 - 7 team record, yielding a 92.1 winning percentage during their four years at Mills E. Godwin High School; and

WHEREAS, head coach Mark Seidenberg was ably assisted by assistant coaches Walt Atwell, Katie Blow, Jim Cohen, Haley Moses, and Todd Phillips during the Mills Godwin team's unforgettable 2014 championship season; the players also had great support from parents, students, and faculty; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team on winning the 2014 Virginia High School League Group 5A state championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to head coach Mark Seidenberg as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the outstanding performance of the 2014 Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team.