2014 SPECIAL SESSION I

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 5058

Commending the Hanover High School baseball team.

Agreed to by the Senate, June 23, 2014 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, June 23, 2014

WHEREAS, the Hanover High School baseball team claimed its second consecutive state title, winning the Virginia High School League Group 4A state championship on June 14, 2014, at Liberty University; and

WHEREAS, with strong pitching and defense, the Hanover High School Hawks defeated the Millbrook High School Pioneers 7-1; the Hawks scored four runs in the fourth inning to take a commanding 5-0 lead; and

WHEREAS, finishing the season with an impressive 21-2 record, the Hanover High School Hawks also defeated the Sherando High School Warriors in the state semifinals 6-2; and

WHEREAS, each member of the Hanover High School baseball team—Thomas Renfro, Hayden Moore, Ben Nachman, Reeves Lowry, John Gregory, Anthony Zona, Taylor McDougal, Jacob Weis, Josh Shepherd, Jakob Pridemore, Hunter Marshall, Trevor Denton, Cayman Richardson, Brady Didlake, Derek Casey, Grey Lyttle, Matthew Corley, Eliott Sledd, and Troy Szalay—contributed to the successful season; and

WHEREAS, the Hanover High School Hawks also benefited from the leadership and experience of the coaches and staff—Charlie Dragum, Hunter Hoy, Russ Abernathy, AJ Karidis, Bobby White, Jeremy Setelin, Mike Rohr, and Tyler Kane—manager, Lexi Martin, and the enthusiastic support of the entire Hanover High School community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Hanover High School baseball team on winning the 2014 Virginia High School League Group 4A state championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Charlie Dragum, the head coach of the Hanover High School baseball team, as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the team's achievements.