SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 5033

Commending the John Marshall High School boys' basketball team.

Agreed to by the Senate, June 12, 2014 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, June 12, 2014

WHEREAS, the John Marshall High School boys' basketball team won the Virginia High School League Group 3A state championship on March 13, 2014, at the Siegel Center in Richmond; and

WHEREAS, the John Marshall Justices defeated the George Wythe Bulldogs 74-56 to finish the season with an impressive 22-5 record and claim the school's sixth state title and the first since 1954; and

WHEREAS, the John Marshall Justices took a commanding lead early in the game, which was the first meeting of two Richmond boys' teams in the state championship in Virginia High School League history; and

WHEREAS, under the able leadership of Tytrail White, Mike Blackwell, David Harvey, and Kyle Cook, the John Marshall Justices showed determination and focus throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, each of the John Marshall players—Jerquante Broaduss, Jeremy Carter-Sheppard, Nicholas Hodges, Taqqi Muhammad, Kyle Scott, Quaman Burton, Ernest Boyd, Xavier Trent, David Meador, Carlton Coleman, Izaiah Derival, Natan William, Terence Talley, Wayne Mathis, and Greg Jones—contributed greatly to the win; and

WHEREAS, with a state championship appearance in 2013 and the state title in 2014, the John Marshall Justices are the pride of the entire John Marshall High School community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the John Marshall High School boys' basketball team on winning the Virginia High School League Group 3A state championship in 2014; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Tytrail White, the head coach of the John Marshall High School boys' basketball team, as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the team's perseverance and skill.