SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 5014

Commending Second Liberty Baptist Church.

Agreed to by the Senate, June 12, 2014 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, June 12, 2014

WHEREAS, Second Liberty Baptist Church, the first predominately black church in New Kent County, has served and uplifted members of the community for more than 150 years; and

WHEREAS, in the mid-1800s, former members of Emmaus Baptist Church and individuals who had recently moved from Charles City County formed a prayer group that met in members' homes; and

WHEREAS, as the congregation grew in size, the Reverend William Harvey Patterson saw an opportunity to make a difference in the community and encouraged members to donate land and supplies for the creation of a brush arbor and, later, a church building in Quinton; and

WHEREAS, Second Liberty Baptist Church was officially recognized in 1866 with the Reverend J. W. Collins and the Reverend Thomas Bailey serving as the first two pastors; Dr. Andrew Harvey Cumber, the first professionally trained black minister in the county, became the pastor in the 1870s and served for the next 38 years; and

WHEREAS, the Reverend William Gray served as pastor of Second Liberty Baptist Church in the early twentieth century, and under the leadership of Dr. John Kemp from 1915 to 1921 and Dr. Miles Mark Fisher from 1921 to 1928, a new building was constructed; and

WHEREAS, in 1928, Dr. George W. Watkins became the pastor of Second Liberty Baptist Church; over his 43-year tenure, he encouraged members of the congregation to become leaders in the community and oversaw many enhancements to the church; and

WHEREAS, the Reverend James W. Mills became the next pastor of Second Liberty Baptist Church in 1972, and he was succeeded by the Reverend Nathaniel Todd Lewis, who expanded the church's ministries, and the Reverend Milton Hathaway, who was a staunch advocate for African Americans in New Kent County; and

WHEREAS, on the occasion of Second Liberty Baptist Church's 149th anniversary in 2006, the church installed the Reverend Lewis R. Yancey II as its pastor; today, the church is ably led by the Reverend Joy M. Taylor, the church's first female pastor; and

WHEREAS, over the years, Second Liberty Baptist Church has become an essential part of the New Kent County community; welcoming people from all walks of life, the church has succeeded in its mission to provide fellowship and worship to the congregation and support and outreach to the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend Second Liberty Baptist Church for more than 150 years of service to New Kent County; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Joy M. Taylor, the interim pastor of Second Liberty Baptist Church, as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the church's storied history and many contributions to the community.