2014 SPECIAL SESSION I

14200028D

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 5010

Offered April 7, 2014

Commending the University of Virginia men's basketball team.

Patrons—Deeds, Barker, Ebbin, Edwards, Favola, Garrett, Hanger, Howell, Locke, Lucas, Marsh, Martin, McDougle, McEachin, Newman, Petersen, Puckett, Reeves, Ruff, Saslaw, Stosch, Stuart, Wagner, Watkins and Wexton; Delegates: Albo, Bell, Richard P., Bell, Robert B., Bulova, Byron, Carr, Cole, Dance, Fowler, Garrett, Helsel, Hodges, Hope, Howell, W.J., Keam, Kilgore, Knight, Kory, Landes, LaRock, Leftwich, Lopez, Loupassi, Mason, Massie, McQuinn, Minchew, Morrissey, Plum, Pogge, Rasoul, Rust, Scott, Simon, Torian, Toscano, Tyler, Villanueva, Ware, Watts, Webert and Wilt

WHEREAS, the University of Virginia men's basketball team won the Atlantic Coast Conference tournament on March 16, 2014; and

8 WHEREAS, defeating the Duke University Blue Devils 72 - 63, the University of Virginia Cavaliers
 9 secured the school's first Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) tournament title since 1976; and

WHEREAS, during the ACC tournament championship, the University of Virginia Cavaliers'
 renowned defense was on display, holding the Blue Devils below their scoring average and controlling
 the pace of the game; and

WHEREAS, sophomore Malcolm Brogdon led the team with 23 points, and senior Joe Harris was
 named the most valuable player of the ACC tournament; and

WHEREAS, earlier in the season, the University of Virginia Cavaliers won a school record 18
straight ACC home games, set a school record by winning 12 ACC games by 10 or more points, and
defeated the Syracuse University Orange to claim the school's sixth regular season title and its second outright since 1981; and

19 WHEREAS, following the ACC tournament, the University of Virginia Cavaliers advanced to the20 Sweet Sixteen of the NCAA tournament as the number one seed in the East Region; and

WHEREAS, each member of the team—Devon Hall, Justin Anderson, Maleek Frazier, Teven Jones,
Mike Tobey, Evan Nolte, Joe Harris, Anthony Gill, Malcolm Brogdon, Rob Vozenilek, London
Perrantes, Caid Kirven, Akil Mitchell, Thomas Rogers, Darion Atkins, and Jeff Jones—contributed
greatly to the championship win; and

WHEREAS, the victory is a testament to the skill and determination of each of the players, the able
leadership of the coaches and staff, and the enthusiastic support of the entire University of Virginia
Wahoo community; now, therefore, be it

28 RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby
 29 commend the University of Virginia men's basketball team on winning the Atlantic Coast Conference
 30 tournament title in 2014; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for
 presentation to Tony Bennett, head coach of the University of Virginia men's basketball team, as an
 expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the team's achievements and best wishes for the
 future.

INTRODUCED

2 3 4

1