2014 SPECIAL SESSION I

INTRODUCED

HJ5211

	14200437D
1	HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 5211
2	Offered September 15, 2014
3	Commending the Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team.
4	
_	Patrons—Massie; Senator: Stosch
5 6	WHEDEAS on June 1 2012 the Mills E Codwin High School girls' tennis team wan its 10th
7	WHEREAS, on June 1, 2013, the Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team won its 10th Virginia High School League Group AAA state championship and finished the season with a 21 - 1
8	record; and
9	WHEREAS, advancing to the state final for the 12th consecutive time, the Mills E. Godwin High
10	School Eagles defeated the Deep Run High School Wildcats 5 - 2 to claim their eighth state title in 12
11	years and add another win to its 32 - 4 postseason record; and
12	WHEREAS, the Mills E. Godwin High School Eagles met the Deep Run High School Wildcats in
13	three previous matches during the 2013 season, including in the regional final when the Eagles claimed
14	their 14th consecutive regional championship; and
15 16	WHEREAS, with 10 state titles to their name, the Mills E. Godwin High School Eagles hold more
10	state titles in tennis than any other school in the Commonwealth; and WHEREAS, the Mills E. Godwin High School Eagles won 154 of 179 individual matches during the
18	2013 season, an astounding rate of 86 percent; during the state championship tournament, the team went
19	15 - 7; and
20	WHEREAS, Abigail Randolph and Keerthana Shankar defeated teammates Jackie Dillon and
21	Elizabeth Dudley to win the district doubles finals; all 17 members of the team received most valuable
22	player awards; and
23 24	WHEREAS, each member of the 2013 Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team—Jackie Dillon, Elizabeth Dudley, Katie Fitzsimmons, Morgan Fuqua, Brittany Hsieh, Emily Hutchinson,
24 25	Madeline Johann, Sophie Linnell, AJ Lukanuski, Ara McCarty, Sarah Miller, Abigail Randolph, Haylee
2 5 2 6	Seidenberg, Lynette Sequeira, Keerthana Shankar, Lucy Smith, and Sammie Townsend—contributed
27	greatly to the successful season; and
28	WHEREAS, seniors Brittany Hsieh, Sarah Miller, Abigail Randolph, and Haylee Seidenberg finished
29	their dynastic high school careers with 4 district championships, 4 regional championships, 2 state titles,
30	and an 84 - 4 record, with a win rate of 95.5 percent; and
31	WHEREAS, the championship performance of the 2013 Mills E. Godwin Eagles is a tribute not only to the talent commitment and continued personance of the players, but also to the leadership of head
32 33	to the talent, commitment, and continued perseverance of the players, but also to the leadership of head coach Mark Seidenberg and his assistant coaches—Walt Atwell, Katie Blow, Jim Cohen, Haley Moses,
33 34	and Todd Phillips—and the support of the parents, students, and faculty of Mills E. Godwin High
35	School; now, therefore, be it
36	RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby
37	commend the Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team on winning the 2013 Virginia High
38	School League Group AAA state championship; and, be it
39	RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution
40 41	for presentation to head coach Mark Seidenberg as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the outstanding performance of the 2013 Mills E. Godwin High School girls' tennis team.
41	for the outstanding performance of the 2013 wills E. Oodwill fligh School girls tellins teall.