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   DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION             REVISED 1/20 
2014 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron Mark L. Keam 2. Bill Number HB 829 
  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Courts of Justice  X Introduced 
   Substitute 
    Engrossed 
4.  Title Miscellaneous Taxes; Automated Sales 

Suppression Devices 
 

  Second House: 
   In Committee 
   Substitute 
   Enrolled 
 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would prohibit and designate as a Class 6 felony the willful and knowing sale, 
purchase, installation, transfer or possession in Virginia of automated sales suppression 
devices, known as “zappers,” or “phantom-ware.”  The bill would also impose a civil 
penalty of $10,000.00, which would be dedicated to the General Fund.  In addition, any 
person who violated the proposal would be liable for all taxes and penalties due to Virginia 
as a result of the fraudulent use of an automated sales suppression device, and would 
need to disgorge all profits associated with the sale or use of the device.  The bill would 
also grant the Tax Commissioner the discretion to revoke or suspend the certificate of 
registration of any person convicted of violating the prohibition.  Finally, the bill would 
suspend the statute of limitations on the assessment and collection of taxes, penalties, 
and interest attributable to the use of automated sales suppression devices.   

 
Under current law, retailers that make a false or fraudulent return with intent to evade the 
sales and use tax are guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor, and subject to a maximum of one 
year in jail, a fine of not more than $2,500, or both.  In addition, they are subject to a civil 
penalty of 50% of the tax assessed. 

  
The effective date of this bill is not specified.   
 
This is a Department of Taxation bill. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  No. 
Item 385, Department of Corrections of the Introduced Executive Budget provides for the 
cost of incarceration. 
 

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Not available.  (See Line 8.) 
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8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs Impact 
 
Department of Taxation 
 
The Department of Taxation (“the Department”) considers implementation of this bill as 
“routine,” and does not require additional funding.    
 
Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission 
 
Because a violator of this provision could be sentenced to up to five years in prison, this 
bill could result in an increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail or prison.  There 
is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional inmates in jail 
could result from this proposal.  Any increase in jail population will increase costs to the 
state.  The Commonwealth presently pays $12.00 a day for each state responsible 
inmate.  It also funds a considerable portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g., correctional 
officers.  The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies from 
locality to locality.  However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail 
Cost Report (November 2013), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged 
$30.06 per inmate, per day in Fiscal Year 2012. 
 
By defining new Class 6 felony offenses, the proposal may increase the state responsible 
(prison) bed space needs of the Commonwealth.  Similarly, the legislative proposal may 
have an impact on local adult correctional facilities’ bed space needs.  Pursuant to § 30-
19.1:4, the estimated amount of the necessary appropriation cannot be determined for 
periods of imprisonment in state adult correctional facilities; therefore Chapter 806 of the 
2013 Acts of Assembly requires the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission to assign a 
minimum fiscal impact of $50,000.  Pursuant to § 30-19.1:4, the estimated amount of the 
necessary appropriation cannot be determined for periods of commitment to the custody 
of the Department of Juvenile Justice.  The Governor’s Introduced Executive Budget 
provides for the minimum $50,000 cost of the criminal penalty. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
To the extent that there are retailers in Virginia utilizing sales suppression software that 
are found guilty, charged with civil penalties, and required to remit taxes, penalties, and 
other fees associated with the use of the sales suppression device, this bill would 
increase General Fund revenues by an unknown amount.  To date, there is little data 
regarding the use of sales suppression devices in the United States and the impact such 
use has had on state tax coffers.  Further, because the offense would be a new one, there 
is no history available to enable the projection of how much revenue might be collected. 
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
Department of Taxation 
Department of Corrections 
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10. Technical amendment necessary:  No. 
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Sales Suppression Devices, Generally 
 
Tax fraud, through the use of automatic sales suppression devices is increasingly posing 
a threat to tax revenue, both in the United States, and in other countries, including 
Germany, Brazil, Quebec, the Netherlands, and Sweden.   

Retailers may utilize zappers to alter the records of their electronic cash records using 
software programs carried on memory sticks, removable compact discs, or through 
Internet links that falsify the electronic records of electronic cash registers and other point-
of-sale systems.  Some zappers may completely remove records of cash transactions, 
renumber remaining transactions, and generate a new control number for each 
transaction.  Because they are physically kept apart from the systems they manipulate, 
zappers minimize risk of detection.  Contrarily, phantom-ware is programming placed 
within a modern electronic cash register system that can be used to hide the skimming of 
cash sales.  This feature reprograms electronic cash registers and point-of-sale systems 
so that selected types of cash transactions are not recorded.  In either case, fraudulent 
retailers will collect the proper amount of sales tax, but report and remit a lesser amount 
to the state’s revenue department to reflect the amount reported on their fraudulent till.  

Given the difficulty of detecting zapper use and the fact that most state statutes 
criminalizing zapper use have only recently been enacted, there are only a few reported 
zapper cases in the United States. 

Penalties for Tax Fraud and Statute of Limitations in Virginia 

Under current law, retailers that: 1) fail or refuse to file a return, 2) make a false or 
fraudulent return with intent to evade the sales and use tax, 3) make a false or fraudulent 
claim for refund, or 4) give or knowingly receive a false or fraudulent exemption certificate 
are guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor, and subject to a criminal penalty of one year in jail or 
a fine of not more than $2,500 or both.  In addition, they are subject to a civil penalty of 
50% of the tax assessed. 
 
Generally, tax must be assessed within three years from the date on which the return 
should have been filed.  For false or fraudulent returns with the intent to evade payment of 
any tax or failure to file a required return, the taxes may be assessed or a proceeding in 
court may be begun for the collection of the taxes at any time within six years from the last 
day on which the return would have been due. 
 
Other States 
 
In the last few years, several states have enacted legislation banning the possession, 
ownership, or transfer of automated sales suppression devices and imposing penalties 
upon violators, as provided in the chart below: 
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State Punishment Fine Additional Information 
California 1-3 years Up to $10,000 Liable for taxes/penalties/interest 
Connecticut 1-5 years Up to $100,000 Liable for taxes/ penalties/interest; forfeits all 

profits. 
Georgia 1-5 years Up to $100,000 Liable for taxes/penalties/interest; forfeits all 

profits. 
Illinois 
(effective 
1/1/14) 

2-5 years (Class 3 felony) Class 3 felony Class 3 felony 

Indiana 2-8 years (Class C felony)   
Louisiana Up to 5 years Up to $5,000 N/A 
Maine -Up to 5 years for 

possession/purchase/ownership; 
(Class C crime). 
-364 days for 
manufacturer/seller/installer 
(Class D crime).   

 Amnesty period to reduce penalties for 
those who correct and fully report previously 
underreported amount. 

Michigan 1-5 years Up to $100,000 Liable for taxes/penalties/interest; forfeits all 
profits. 

North Carolina 4-25 months (Class H felony) Up to $10,000 Liable for taxes/fees/penalties/interest; 
forfeit all profits 

North Dakota 
 

-Up to 10 years (Class B felony 
(first offense) 
-Up to 20 years (Class A felony 
(second offense) 

Up to $100,000 
for second 
offense 

Possession for legitimate use is a defense.  
Liable for taxes at double 
amount/penalties/interest; forfeits all profits 

Oklahoma 1-5 years Up to $100,000 Additional administrative fine of $10,000, 
deposited into the General Fund. 
Revocation of sales tax permit for period of 
ten years. 

Tennessee N/A Up to $100,000 Possession for legitimate use is a defense. 
Protects confidentiality of persons who 
report violations in good faith. 

Utah -Up to 5 years (Third degree 
felony); 
-1-15 years (Second degree 
felony), second or subsequent 
offense 

Up to twice the 
amount of the 
applicable taxes 
due. 

Liable for taxes/penalties/interest; forfeits all 
profits. 

Vermont 1-5 years Up to $100,000 Liable for taxes/penalties/interest; forfeits all 
profits.  Safe harbor for voluntary disclosure. 

Washington 5 years (Class C felony) Seller/designer—
Greater of 
$10,000 or tax 
owed 

Department of revenue may revoke 
purchaser business license and subject to 
five years of electronic monitoring. 

West Virginia 5 years $10,000 to 
$100,000 

Liable for taxes/penalties/interest; forfeits all 
profits 

Wyoming Up to 3 years Up to $5,000 N/A 
 
Proposal 
 
This bill would prohibit and designate as a Class 6 felony the willful and knowing sale, 
purchase, installation, transfer or possession in Virginia of automated sales suppression 
devices, known as “zappers,” or “phantom-ware.”  Under the terms of the bill, “automated 
sales suppression device” would include: 1) any software program, carried on a memory 
stick or removable compact disk, accessed through an Internet link, or accessed through 
any other means, that falsifies the electronic records of electronic cash registers and other 
point-of-sale systems, including but not limited to, transaction data and transaction 
reports, or 2) any programming option embedded in the operating system of an electronic 
cash register, whether hidden, preinstalled, or installed at a later time, capable of being 



 
HB 829 – Revised 1/20 -5- 01/20/14 

used to create a virtual electronic cash register or eliminate or manipulate transaction 
records in order to omit suppressed sales transactions when representing the record of 
transactions in the electronic cash register, whether or not the true or manipulated records 
are preserved in digital or other formats.   
 
Any person convicted of violating this provision would be guilty of a Class 6 felony, and 
subject to a punishment of one to five years imprisonment, or, at the discretion of the jury 
or the court trying the case without a jury, 12 months in jail and a fine of not more than 
$2,500, either or both.  This is in addition to any charges that may be imposed against the 
taxpayer under current law for making a false or fraudulent return with intent to evade the 
sales and use tax, a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries a maximum one year jail 
sentence and a fine of not more than $2,500.   
 
The bill would also impose a civil penalty of $10,000.00, which would be collected and 
assessed by the Department of Taxation in the same manner as other taxes are collected, 
and would be dedicated to the General Fund.   
 
In addition, any person who violated the proposal would be liable for all taxes and 
penalties due to Virginia as a result of the fraudulent use of an automated sales 
suppression device, and would need to disgorge all profits associated with the sales or 
use of the device.   
 
The bill would also give the Tax Commissioner the discretion to revoke or suspend the 
certificate of registration of any person convicted of violating the prohibition.  The 
Commissioner would need to provide the taxpayer with 10 days’ written notice of a 
hearing to allow the taxpayer to demonstrate why his certificate should not be revoked or 
suspended. 
 
Finally, the bill would suspend the statute of limitations on the assessment and collection 
of taxes, penalties, and interest attributable to the use of automated sales suppression 
devices. 
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified.   
 
Similar Legislation 
 
Senate Bill 611 is identical to this bill.   
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
 
Date: 1/20/2014 KP 
DLAS File Name:  HB829F161 
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