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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2014 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron James M. LeMunyon 2. Bill Number HB 434 
  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Finance  X Introduced 
   Substitute 
    Engrossed 
4.  Title Business, Professional, and Occupational 

License Tax;  Machinery and Tools Tax; 
Merchants’ Capital Tax; Limits on Rates 

 
  Second House: 
   In Committee 
   Substitute 
   Enrolled 
 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would provide that a locality may not increase the rate or assessment ratio 
Machinery and Tools Tax or Business Tangible Personal Property Tax on machinery and 
tools used in a business, the Merchants’ Capital Tax, or the Business, Professional and 
Occupational License ("BPOL") or fee higher than the rate and assessment ratio that was 
applicable on January 1, 2014.  The bill also provides that any locality that elects to 
impose the BPOL tax on Virginia taxable income may not thereafter impose the tax on 
gross receipts. 
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  No. 
 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Not available.  (See Line 8.) 
 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
To the extent that localities may not increase the rates of the Machinery and Tools Tax or 
Business Tangible Personal Property Tax on business machinery and tools, the 
Merchants’ Capital Tax, or the BPOL tax or fee in excess of the rate imposed on January 
1, 2014, this bill would have an unknown revenue impact on localities.  In Fiscal Year 
2012, localities generated approximately $683.1 million from the BPOL tax and fee, $11.4 
million from the Merchants’ Capital Tax, and $204.6 million from the Machinery and Tools 
Tax.  This bill would have no impact on state revenues.   
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
All localities 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No. 
 

11. Other comments:   
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BPOL Tax  
 
The Business, Professional and Occupational License (BPOL) tax is a tax on businesses 
for the privilege of engaging in business at a definite place of business within a Virginia 
locality.  The measure or basis of the BPOL tax may either be the gross receipts or the 
Virginia taxable income of the business.  Under current BPOL law, any locality may 
charge a license fee in an amount not to exceed:  
 
• $50 for any locality with a population of 25,000 and greater  
• $30 for any locality with a population smaller than 25,000   
 
The locality may not assess a license tax on gross receipts upon which it charges a 
license fee.  Additionally, the locality may not impose a license tax on a business with 
gross receipts: 
 
• less than $100,000 in any locality with a population greater than 50,000  
• less than $50,000 in any locality with a population of 25,000 but no more than 50,000.  
 
Any business with gross receipts in excess of these thresholds may be subject to license 
tax at a rate not to exceed the rates set forth below:  
 
• Contracting - sixteen cents per $100 of gross receipts  
• Retail sales - twenty cents per $100 of gross receipts  
• Financial, real estate and professional services - fifty eight cents per $100 of gross 

receipts  
• Repair, personal and business services, and all other businesses - thirty six cents per 

$100 of gross receipts.  
 
Localities that imposed a higher rate structure on January 1, 1978 are allowed to continue 
to impose the tax at those rates. 
 
Machinery and Tools Tax 
 
Generally, machinery and tools used in manufacturing, mining, water well drilling, 
processing or reprocessing, radio and television broadcasting, dairy, dry cleaning or a 
laundry business are segregated as a separate class of tangible personal property and 
are subject to local taxation only.  The tax rate imposed on machinery and tools may not 
exceed that imposed on the general class of tangible personal property. 
 
As established in a 1950 opinion of the Tax Commissioner, machinery and tools used in 
the manufacturing business are those machinery and tools (1) actually and directly used 
in manufacturing processes and (2) those machinery and tools used in the manufacturing 
business that are necessary in the particular manufacturing business and are used in 
connection with operation of machinery that is actually and directly used in manufacturing 
processes.   
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Tangible Personal Property Tax 
 
Under current law, tangible personal property is classified under a number of separate 
classifications for valuation purposes as well as for rate purposes.  Tangible personal 
property employed in a trade or business is a separate classification of property can be 
taxed at a rate not to exceed the general rate imposed on tangible personal property.   
Additionally, localities may value property within the separate classifications provided for 
valuation purposes differently, so long as each method used is uniform within each 
category, is consistent with the specified requirements for each separate classification, 
and may reasonably be expected to determine actual fair market value as determined by 
the commissioner of the revenue or other assessing official.  Tangible personal property 
employed in a trade or business is also a separate classification of property for valuation 
purposes and such property must be valued by means of a percentage or percentages of 
original cost. 
 
Merchants’ Capital Tax 
 
The Merchants’ Capital Tax is a local option property tax imposed on the inventory, daily 
rental passenger cars, and all other personal property of merchants except for tangible 
personal property not for sale as merchandise.  As of 2008, the tax was imposed in 46 
counties and 7 towns.  Localities that impose the tax are prohibited from imposing a BPOL 
tax on merchants.  Additionally, the tax must be imposed at a rate that does not exceed 
the rate or ratio that was in effect in that locality on January 1, 1978. 
 
Proposal 
 
This bill would provide that a locality may not increase the rate or assessment ratio 
Machinery and Tools Tax or Business Tangible Personal Property Tax on machinery and 
tools used in a business, the Merchants’ Capital Tax, or the Business, Professional and 
Occupational License ("BPOL")  or fee higher than the rate and assessment ratio that was 
applicable on January 1, 2014.  The bill also provides that any locality that elects to 
impose the BPOL tax on Virginia taxable income may not thereafter impose the tax on 
gross receipts. 
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified. 
 
Similar Legislation 
 
House Bill 371 would require localities to impose the BPOL tax on the Virginia taxable 
income or net income of a business, rather than on gross receipts beginning in license 
year 2015. 
 
House Bill 435 would prohibit a locality from increasing the rate of its business machinery 
and tools tax, merchants' capital tax, and BPOL tax and fees above the locality's rates in 
effect as of January 1, 2014.  The bill would also establish refundable income tax credits 
equal to 33 percent of such taxes paid during the taxable year beginning with taxable year 
2014. 
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House Bill 497 would allow taxpayers to appeal or request a written ruling from the Tax 
Commissioner regarding the classification of his business for BPOL tax purposes, 
regardless of whether the locality has conducted an audit or issued an assessment. 
 
Senate Bill 112 would require the General Assembly to appropriate an amount sufficient 
to pay on behalf of taxpayers the total amount of BPOL Tax and Machinery and Tools Tax 
owed to a locality beginning in any calendar year in which the unemployment rate of the 
locality in the most recent calendar year for which data is available is equal to or greater 
than twice the statewide average unemployment rate. 
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