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1. Bill Number:   HB 235 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Bell 

 

3.  Committee: House Courts of Justice 

  
4. Title: Sex Offender Registry  

 

5. Summary:   
 
  Under current law, anyone convicted of any enumerated sex-related offense must register 

with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry (registry), which is maintained 
by the Department of State Police.  Each person registered is required to re-register annually.  
He is also required to re-register whenever there is a change in any of the following: address, 
place of employment, owned motor vehicle, or e-mail address.  Persons convicted of sexually 
violent crimes or of violating registration procedures must re-register more frequently.  
Penalties for violating registration procedures range from a Class 1 misdemeanor to a Class 5 
felony, depending on the frequency of violation and whether the offender is defined as 
sexually violent.  The Department of Corrections is responsible for verifying registration 
information for person under its supervision; the Department of State Police is responsible 
for verifying the registration information for all other registered offenders. 

 
  The proposed legislation would add to the list of persons required to register any person 

convicted of soliciting prostitution from a minor.     
 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes.  Item 385. 
 
7.  Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary.  See Item 8 below. 

 

 Expenditure Impact: 

   

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 

   

2015 $50,000 General 

2016 $0  

2017 $0  

2018 $0  

2019 $0  

2020 $0  

 



  

8. Fiscal Implications:   
 

Expanding the list of offenses for which registration with the Sex Offenders and Crimes 
Against Minors Registry increases the number of persons who may violate one of its 
registration provisions, thereby increasing the number of persons who may be guilty of a 
Class1 misdemeanor or Class 6 felony. 

 
  Anyone convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor is subject to a sentence of up to 12 months 

in jail.  For someone convicted of a Class 6 felony, a judge has the option of sentencing him 
to up to one year in jail, or 1 to 5 years in prison.  Therefore, this proposal could result in an 
increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail or prison. 

 
There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional 

inmates in jail could result from this proposal.  Any increase in jail population will increase 
costs to the state.  The Commonwealth presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each 
misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail and $12.00 a day for each 
state responsible inmate.  It also funds a considerable portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. 
correctional officers.  The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies 
from locality to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail 
Cost Report (November 2013), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged 
$30.06 per inmate, per day in FY 2012. 

 
  Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, 

pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on 
state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.  In such cases, Chapter 806 of the 
2013 Acts of Assembly, requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill. 

 
  Because the Department of Corrections and the Department of State Police have the 

responsibility of verifying the information of persons on the registry, an increase in the 
number of persons required to register would have an impact on their respective workloads.  
However, because the offense for which registration would be required by the proposed 
legislation was created only last year by the General Assembly, any effect on the 
departments’ workload as a result of the proposed legislation cannot be determined now. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:   
  
 Department of State Police 
 Department of Corrections 
  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  None. 
 
11. Other Comments:  None. 
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