SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1

Commending the 2014 inductees into the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame.

Agreed to by the Senate, January 9, 2014

WHEREAS, in 1996 the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame was designated the official Sports Hall of Fame of the Commonwealth of Virginia; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, located in Portsmouth, has honored many of Virginia's exceptional athletes, coaches, and media since its inception; and

WHEREAS, dedicated to honoring, educating, and entertaining its visitors, the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame and Museum inducts individuals who achieve greatness in their field and serves as a nonprofit educational resource center for math, science, health, and character development; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame is honored to present the Class of 2014 inductees as follows:

The Class of 2014

Rondé Barber

A native of Roanoke, Rondé Barber was a three-time All-Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) selection for the University of Virginia (UVA) Cavaliers. He was taken in the third round of the 1997 NFL Draft by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Over his 16-year career with the Buccaneers, he accumulated five Pro Bowl selections and three first-team All-Pro selections and helped capture the team's first Super Bowl win in franchise history in Super Bowl XXXVII against the Oakland Raiders. He is the Buccaneers' all-time interceptions leader and has recorded the most quarterback sacks by an NFL cornerback.

Sean Casey

Sean Casey is a graduate of the University of Richmond, where he was a three-time All-Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) selection and captured the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) batting title during the 1995 season with a .461 batting average. He was a second-round pick in the 1995 Major League Baseball (MLB) Draft by the Cleveland Indians. Over his 12-year MLB career, he was a three-time All-Star selection and posted a career batting average of .302, while hitting 130 home runs and driving in 735 runs. In 1999, he received MLB's Hutch Award, given to the player who "best exemplifies the fighting spirit and competitive desire" of the award's namesake. He was selected to the Cincinnati Reds Hall of Fame in 2012.

LaTasha Colander Clark

LaTasha Colander Clark, a native of Portsmouth, is a graduate of Woodrow Wilson High School and later went on to run track at the University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapel Hill. At UNC, she won 14 ACC titles, was a 12-time All-American, and led the Tar Heels to eight ACC team championships. She was a member of both the 2000 and 2004 United States (U.S.) Olympic Teams, and won a gold medal as part of the 4 x 400 meter relay team in the 2000 Olympics in Sydney, Australia. In 2000, she was the U.S. champion in the 400 meters and was part of the relay team that broke the world record in the 4 x 200 meters. She repeated as U.S. champion in 2001.

Marty Miller

Marty Miller, a native of Danville, is considered one of Norfolk State University (NSU)'s greatest ambassadors. Starting at NSU in 1965 as a baseball player, he became the first Spartan to be named an NCAA College Division All-American and played until 1968 before joining the U.S. Army. In 1973, he became NSU's head coach, where he stayed until 2005 before being named NSU's Director of Athletics. In his 32 years as head baseball coach, he went 718-543-3, including 17 conference championships. He was named the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association's (CIAA) Coach of the Year 15 times and is the winningest baseball coach in CIAA history. He is a member of the CIAA's John B. McLendon Hall of Fame and the Norfolk State University Sports Hall of Fame.

Ticha Penicheiro

Ticha Penicheiro was a standout women's basketball player at Old Dominion University (ODU) from 1994-1998 and led the Lady Monarchs to the NCAA championship game in 1997. At ODU, she was a two-time Kodak All-American, four-time All-CAA honoree, and was named the CAA's Player of the Year twice. In 1998, she was the Wade Trophy recipient, awarded annually to the best women's basketball player in NCAA Division I competition. After her prestigious college career, she was the number-two overall pick by the Sacramento Monarchs in the 1998 Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) draft. In her 15-year career in the WNBA, she was a four-time WNBA All-Star, won a WNBA championship in 2005, and is the all-time record holder in assists. She was an honoree of the WNBA's All-Decade Team in 2006.

David Teel

David Teel graduated from James Madison University in 1981 with a degree in communications before becoming one of the most decorated sports writers in Virginia. He came to the *Daily Press* in 1984 and has covered numerous NCAA Final Fours; ACC championships; college bowl games; NFL playoff games, including the 2009 Super Bowl; two U.S. Opens; the 2002 Ryder Cup in England; and the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games. He has been honored more than 50 times by the *Associated Press* Sports Editors, Football Writers Association of America, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, and the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

Louis Wacker

Louis Wacker, an outstanding football player for the Richmond Spiders, began his football coaching career at Midlothian High School before joining the staff at Hampden-Sydney College (HSC), where he built a defensive powerhouse over the next two decades as a defensive coordinator. After his 24 years with HSC, he moved on to become the head football coach at Emory & Henry College (E & H) in 1982. He spent 23 seasons with the Wasps and won nearly 70 percent of his games with an overall record of 164-76. He was voted Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) Coach of the Year five times and recorded more football wins than any other conference coach on his way to a record of 11 conference championships. He is a member of the Highland Springs High School Hall of Fame, the University of Richmond Athletics Hall of Fame, the Hampden-Sydney College Athletic Hall of Fame, and the Emory & Henry College Sports Hall of Fame; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate of Virginia, That Rondé Barber, Sean Casey, LaTasha Colander Clark, Marty Miller, Ticha Penicheiro, David Teel, and Louis Wacker hereby be commended as the 2014

inductees into the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare copies of this resolution for presentation to the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame and Museum and its 2014 inductees as an expression of the Senate of Virginia's congratulations and admiration for the inductees' many contributions to the world of sports.