	14103094D
1	SENATE BILL NO. 344
2	Offered January 8, 2014
3	Prefiled January 7, 2014
4	A BILL to amend the Code of Virginia by adding a section numbered 24.2-303.4, relating to technical
5	adjustments of certain Senate District boundaries.
6	
_	Patron—Newman
7	
8	Referred to Committee on Privileges and Elections
9	
10	Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:
11 12	1. That the Code of Virginia is amended by adding a section numbered 24.2-303.4 as follows: § 24.2-303.4. Senate districts.
12	Subject to the provisions of subsections A, B, and C of § 24.2-303.3, the following Senate districts
14	shall be comprised as follows:
15	Nineteenth. All of Floyd County; all of the City of Salem; part of Bedford County comprised of the
16	Bethesda Methodist Church (303), Huddleston Elem School (305), and Saunders Vol Fire Dept (205)
17	Precincts and part of the New London Academy (301) Precinct; part of Carroll County comprised of the
18	Dugspur (303), Gladeville (502), Hillsville C (301), Laurel (504), Sylvatus (302), Vaughn (501), and
19	Woodlawn E (503) Precincts and parts of the Hillsville B (201) and Woodlawn D (402) Precincts; part
20	of Franklin County comprised of the Bonbrook (602), Boones Mill (601), Bowmans (503), Burnt
21	Chimney (102), Callaway (502), Cooper's Cove (603), Dudley (204), Endicott (403), Ferrum (402),
22	Gogginsville (504), and Scruggs (103) Precincts and parts of the Glade Hill (201), Henry (401),
23	Hodgesville (203), Penhook (202), Rocky Mount East (701), Rocky Mount South (703), Rocky Mount
24	West (702), and Waidsboro (501) Precincts; part of Montgomery County comprised of the C-1 (301), C = 2 (202) P L (401) P = 2 (402) P = 2 P + (1 (402) P = 1 (201))
25	C-2 (302), D-1 (401), D-2 (402), D-3 Part 1 (403), and D-4 (404) Precincts and parts of the B-1 (201), B-2 (202), B-4 (204), C-2 (202), C-4 (204), and D-5 (405) Precinctly part of Parameter County comprised
26 27	<i>B-3</i> (203), <i>B-4</i> (204), <i>C-3</i> (303), <i>C-4</i> (304), and <i>D-5</i> (405) Precincts; part of Roanoke County comprised of the Bent Mountain (301), Bonsack (402), Castle Rock (305), Cave Spring (503), Clearbrook (505),
28	Cotton Hill (501), Glenvar (103), Green Hill (106), Hunting Hills (507), Lindenwood (405), Mason
2 9	Valley (102), Mount Pleasant (406), North Vinton (403), Oak Grove (304), Penn Forest (502), Peters
30	Creek (105), Poages Mill (302), South Vinton (404), Wildwood (108), and Windsor Hills (303) Precincts
31	and part of the Northside (104) Precinct; and part of Wythe County comprised of the East Wytheville
32	(303), Fort Chiswell (401), Huddle (601), Jackson Memorial (501), Max Meadows (402), and Sheffey
33	(502) Precincts.
34	Twenty-third. All of Botetourt and Craig Counties; all of the City of Bedford; part of Bedford County
35	comprised of the Bedford Christian Church (703), Bedford County PSA (302), Big Island Elem School
36	(502), Body Camp Elem School (204), Boonsboro Elem School (505), Boonsboro Ruritan Club (506),
37	Chamblissburg First Aid Bldg (103), Forest Elem School (401), Forest Youth Athletic Assoc. (304),
38 39	Goode Rescue Squad (701), Goodview Elem School (101), Hardy Fire & Rescue Bldg (102), Knights of Columbus Pldg (403), Liberty, High School (702), Moneta Elem School (202), Monetale Elem School
40	Columbus Bldg (403), Liberty High School (702), Moneta Elem School (203), Montvale Elem School (601), Odd Fellows Hall (504), Pleasant View (507), Saunders Grove Brethren Church (604), Sedalia
41	Center (503), Shady Grove Baptist Church (602), Staunton River High School (202), Suck Springs (704),
42	Thaxton Elem School (603), and Thomas Jefferson Elem School (402) Precincts and part of the New
43	London Academy (301) Precinct; part of Campbell County comprised of the Airport (601), Altavista
44	(303), Bedford Springs (202), Brookville (101), Concord (603), Court House (402), Evington (301),
45	Kings (602), Lynch Station (302), New London (102), Spring Hill (501), Walker (201), and Yellow
46	Branch (502) Precincts; part of Roanoke County comprised of the Hollins (206), Mountain View (203),
47	Orchards (205), and Plantation (201) Precincts; and part of the City of Lynchburg comprised of the
48	Third Ward Third Precinct (303), Third Ward Fourth Precinct (304), Third Ward Fifth Precinct (305),
49	Fourth Ward First Precinct (401), and Fourth Ward Fourth Precinct (404) Precincts and part of the
50 51	First Ward First Precinct (101) Precinct.
51 52	All other Senate districts shall be comprised as provided in § 24.2-303.3. 2. That the first enactment changes the assignment of certain census blocks to Senate districts as
52 53	2. That the first enactment changes the assignment of certain census blocks to Senate districts as follows:
53 54	In Bedford County, blocks 510190302021071, 510190302021072, 510190302021074,
55	510190302021076, 510190302021077, 510190302021078, 510190302021080, 510190302021081,
56	510190302021082, 510190302021083, 510190302021084, and 510190302021091 are reassigned from
57	District 23 to District 19.

9/10/22 0:41

SB344

INTRODUCED