HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 472

Commending the Patrick Henry College moot court team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 5, 2014 Agreed to by the Senate, March 7, 2014

WHEREAS, the Patrick Henry College moot court team won its sixth consecutive American Collegiate Moot Court Association National Moot Court Championship in January 2014 at Arizona State University; and

WHEREAS, the American Collegiate Moot Court Association is the only national organization dedicated to intercollegiate moot court competition; over 300 teams competed in regional tournaments in the 2012 - 2013 season; and

WHEREAS, continuing a tradition of excellence, the Patrick Henry College moot court team's victory was the school's eighth moot court title in the past 10 years; and

WHEREAS, seven of the Patrick Henry moot court team's eight pairs of advocates advanced to the playoff round of the tournament, with two teams competing in the semi-final round; the winning advocates were seniors Blake Meadows and Kayla Griesemer; and

WHEREAS, the Patrick Henry moot court team, ably coached by Patrick Henry College Chancellor Dr. Michael Farris, faced strong competitors from around the country; and

WHEREAS, the Patrick Henry moot court team owes its ongoing success to the dedication and hard work of the students, the leadership of the coaches and faculty, and the enthusiastic support of the Patrick Henry College community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Patrick Henry College moot court team on winning the American Collegiate Moot Court Association National Moot Court Championship in January 2014; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Patrick Henry College as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the team's achievements and best wishes for the future.