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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

2012 Fiscal Impact Statement 
 

1.  Patron Richard H. Stuart 2. Bill Number SB 181 

  House of Origin: 

3.  Committee Senate Finance  X Introduced 

   Substitute 

    Engrossed 

4.  Title Retail Sales and Use Tax; Consumer Use 
Tax to Be Filed Annually 

 

  Second House: 
   In Committee 

   Substitute 

   Enrolled 

 

5. Summary/Purpose:   
 
The Department understands that the patron intends to introduce a substitute version of 
this bill.  This impact statement addresses the substitute bill.   
 
This bill would mandate that any person liable for the state or local consumer use tax 
must report and remit use tax by May 1

st 
of each year.    

 
Under current law, use tax is imposed upon the use, consumption, or storage of tangible 
personal property in Virginia when the Virginia sales or use tax is not paid at the time the 
property is purchased.  Individuals that are not registered to collect the Virginia sales or 
use tax have the option of reporting the use tax on a Consumer’s Use Tax Return (Form 
CU-7) or on the applicable Individual Income Tax return, each of which are filed annually 
and are based on the calendar year.  Businesses that are not registered to collect the tax 
must report consumer use tax on the Consumer Use Tax Return on or before the 20

th
 day 

of each month following the period in which the use tax liability was incurred. 
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified.  
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  Yes. 
Page 1, Revenue Estimates 
 

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Preliminary.  (See Line 8.) 
 

8. Fiscal implications:   
 
Administrative Costs 
 
The Department considers implementation of this bill as “routine” and does not require 
additional funding. 
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Revenue Impact 
 
The introduced Executive Budget allocates currently undedicated Retail Sales and Use 
Tax revenues from the General Fund to the Highway Maintenance and Operating Fund 
(“HMOF”) beginning July 1, 2012.  The revenue impact of this bill assumes passage of 
the introduced Executive Budget. 
 
Based on data of the Department’s last 12 months’ collection of consumer use tax, 
interest, and penalties from December 2010 to November 2011, the total state and local 
revenue loss of this bill would have been $18.9 million in Fiscal Year 2012 if this bill had 
taken effect in July, 2011.  The revenue loss is broken out in the table below: 
 

Tax Collections, Interest and Penalties 

 FY 2012 

GF Fund ($13,000,407) 

GF Unrestricted ($  9,248,103) 

GF Restricted ($  3,752,304) 

Transportation Trust Fund ($  1,883,257) 

Local ($  3,787,126) 

HMOF ($     189,510) 

Revenue Impact ($18,860,301) 

 
 
Individuals may report consumer use tax on forms CU-7 (Virginia Consumer’s Use Tax 
Return for Individuals) or on their individual income tax returns, both of which are remitted 
annually based on the calendar year.  Consumer use taxes remitted on Forms CU-7 
totaled $87,000 in calendar year 2011, and on Individual income tax returns totaled 
approximately $1.6 million for calendar year 2011.  This bill would have no impact on 
consumer use tax revenues filed by individuals. 
 
Businesses must report their use tax liability on the Consumer Use Tax Return (Form ST-
7), which must be remitted on or before the 20

th
 day of the month following the period in 

which the use tax liability was incurred.  Modifying the remittance date to May 1 would 
shift state and local use tax revenue into the next fiscal year.  In the first year of 
implementation, seven months of remittance would be delayed until May 1

st
 of the 

following year.  The impact of this modification is presumed to affect only the first fiscal 
year.  In subsequent years, there would be no revenue impact because all twelve months 
would be included. 
 
Based on the last 12 months of available use tax data, consumer use tax collections 
reported on Form ST-7 totaled approximately $41.35 million for that 12-month period.  
Use tax collections during the seven month period July-January were $22.52 million.  The 
approximated $18 million dollar difference represents the use tax collections for the five 
month collection period that would be lost in fiscal year 2013 and shifted to fiscal year 
2014.  While interest and penalties are presumed to be unaffected by the switch in 
remittance dates, there is some potential that interest and penalties will decrease due to 
the additional time businesses will have to accurately complete forms.   
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9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
Department of Taxation 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:   
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Consumer Use Tax 
 
The consumer use tax was enacted in 1966 as the other half of the sales tax and 
generally is owed on purchases upon which no Virginia sales tax was paid.  The 
consumer use tax applies, for example, on items purchased from out-of-state vendors 
who are not registered to collect the Virginia sales tax.  The consumer use tax does not 
apply to out-of-state mail order catalog purchases totaling $100 or less during any 
calendar year.  The primary purpose of the use tax, as determined by the Virginia 
Supreme Court in Commonwealth v. Miller-Morton, 220 Va. 852, 263 S.E. 2d 413 (1980), 
is to prevent the sales tax from placing Virginia retailers at a competitive disadvantage 
with retailers located outside of Virginia. 
 
While Virginia dealers and some out-of-state dealers collect and remit the sales tax on 
their sales to Virginia customers, most out-of-state retailers have no physical connection 
with the state and therefore are not required to collect the tax.  Virginia, like other states, 
is prohibited by the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision in Quill Corp. v. North Dakota from 
requiring the collection of the sales tax from these out-of-state dealers.  Thus, Virginia 
must seek collection of the use tax from consumers. 
 
Current Compliance Policy 
 
Virginia Individual Income Tax packages were expanded in 1992 to include the Consumer 
Use Tax Form CU-7, instructions, and information on the use tax.  Form CU-7 was 
developed by the Department to facilitate the filing of the use tax by individuals and is due 
at the same time as the income tax returns. 
 
For tax years 1993 and after, a check-off was added to the individual income tax return 
allowing taxpayers to pay their consumer use tax liability from their income tax refund, 
thus avoiding the need to file Form CU-7. 
 
Unlike individual taxpayers, the consumer use tax liability of businesses is enforced 
through periodic sales and use tax audits, which generally cover a three-year audit period. 
Therefore, the consumer use tax paid by businesses more accurately reflects actual 
liability.  Businesses must report consumer use tax on the Consumer Use Tax Return 
(Form ST-7) on or before the 20

th
 day of each month following the period in which the use 

tax liability was incurred.  ST-7 returns are not required to be filed for any period in which 
no use tax is due.     
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Proposal 
 
This bill would mandate that any person liable for the consumer use tax pursuant to Va. 
Code § 58.1-604 and § 58.1-606 must report and remit such use tax by May 1

st 
of each 

year.    
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified. 
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
 
Date: 2/3/2012 KP 
DLAS File Name:  SB181F161 

 


