HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 198

Commending the Cathedral of Saint Thomas More.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 21, 2013

WHEREAS, the Cathedral of Saint Thomas More, a Roman Catholic cathedral in Arlington, celebrates its 75th anniversary in 2013; and

WHEREAS, founded in 1938, the church, then known as the Parish of Saint Thomas More, was named for Saint Thomas More, "the most saintly of humanists, the most human of saints"; and

WHEREAS, the Reverend Edwin J. Lee, the first pastor of the Parish of Saint Thomas More, helped encourage the Layman's Retreat Movement; and

WHEREAS, in 1942 the Parish of Saint Thomas More completed its first church building; the building now serves as the north wing of the fully accredited Saint Thomas More Cathedral School, which offers pre-kindergarten through eighth grade; and

WHEREAS, the Saint Thomas More Cathedral School opened in 1944 under the Reverend Arthur J. Taylor and was staffed by the Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, who diligently served the school for the next 50 years; and

WHEREAS, throughout his 25-year tenure, Monsignor Taylor oversaw the construction of a new rectory in 1955 and the current cathedral in 1961 and helped organize a men's and boys' choir in 1962; and

WHEREAS, in 1969 Monsignor Taylor was named Pastor Emeritus for his decades of exceptional service to the community and was succeeded by Monsignor Richard J. Burke; and

WHEREAS, Monsignor Burke enhanced the music program; created the Parish Activities Hall, which bears his name today; and, when the church separated from the Diocese of Richmond in 1974, became the first rector of the Cathedral of Saint Thomas More; and

WHEREAS, from 1981 to 2005, the Cathedral of Saint Thomas More was ably led by rectors Monsignor John A. O'Connell, Monsignor John T. Cilinski, the Reverend Dominic Irace, and the Reverend Robert Avella; during that period, the cathedral continued to grow, enhanced the school, introduced a Spanish mass, and hosted a choir concert for His Holiness, Pope John Paul II in 2001; and

WHEREAS, today led by the current rector, the Reverend Robert J. Rippy, the Cathedral of Saint Thomas More continues its traditions of offering fellowship, worship, community outreach, and education through the Saint Thomas More Cathedral School; and

WHEREAS, the Cathedral of Saint Thomas More will celebrate its anniversary with events throughout the year, including an anniversary mass and gala dinner in June and a festival in July; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That the Cathedral of Saint Thomas More hereby be commended on the occasion of its 75th anniversary; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the Cathedral of Saint Thomas More as an expression of the House of Delegates' admiration for the cathedral's decades of service to the community.