## 2013 SESSION

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 681

Commending Mountain States Health Alliance.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 11, 2013 Agreed to by the Senate, January 17, 2013

WHEREAS, Mountain States Health Alliance, formed in 1998, is the largest health care system in Northeast Tennessee and Southwest Virginia; and

WHEREAS, Mountain States Health Alliance's (MSHA) approximately 13,500 team members, associated physicians, and volunteers provide caring treatment to patients; and

WHERÉAS, MSHA's Virginia facilities include Dickenson Community Hospital, Johnston Memorial Hospital, Norton Community Hospital, Russell County Medical Center, and Smyth County Community Hospital; and its Tennessee facilities include Franklin Woods Community Hospital, Indian Path Medical Center, Johnson County Community Hospital, Niswonger Children's Hospital, James H. and Cecile C. Quillen Rehabilitation Hospital, Sycamore Shoals Hospital, and Woodridge Hospital, as well as 21 primary/preventive care centers and numerous outpatient sites in both states; and

WHEREAS, MSHA has long been dedicated to providing quality health care in a loving environment; and

WHEREAS, on August 20, 2012, the National Quality Forum (NQF) named MSHA the recipient of this year's National Quality Healthcare Award, recognizing its commitment to excellence and quality throughout the system; and

WHEREAS, this marks the second time a Virginia health system has been honored, and the first time for a Tennessee health system; and

WHEREAS, the NQF presents only one national award annually, making this a particularly prestigious distinction; and

WHEREAS, NQF's interim president and CEO, Senior Vice President and COO Laura Miller, said of MSHA, "They have created and utilize a set of 10 Patient-centered Care Guiding Principles illustrating the importance of safe, customized care provided in a transparent manner and openly communicated with the patient, family, and caregivers throughout the course of treatment"; and

WHEREAS, the National Quality Healthcare Award was created in 1993 and recipients are selected through a blinded review by a panel composed of national health care experts representing purchasers, government, health systems, clinicians, and consumers; and

WHEREAS, MSHA will be presented with this award in special ceremonies to be held in Washington, D.C., in Spring 2013; and

WHEREAS, this award is a reflection of the dedication and professionalism of all the associates at MSHA and its President and CEO, Dennis Vonderfecht; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend Mountain States Health Alliance on its selection by the National Quality Forum as a 2012 National Quality Healthcare Award recipient; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Dennis Vonderfecht, president and chief executive officer of Mountain States Health Alliance, as an expression of the General Assembly's congratulations and appreciation for its commitment to quality healthcare. ENROLLED