HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 572

Commending Mount Airy Elementary School.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 11, 2013 Agreed to by the Senate, January 17, 2013

WHEREAS, Mount Airy Elementary School, a storied institution in Pittsylvania County, celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2012; and

WHEREAS, stories from older Pittsylvania County residents indicate that Mount Airy Elementary School traces its roots to 1912, when one teacher taught grades one through seven in a log cabin standing near the school's present location; and

WHEREAS, the recorded history of Mount Airy Elementary School dates to October 1929, when another one-room school house was constructed, only to be replaced with a two-room structure that gradually grew to house 150 students; and

WHEREAS, the current Mount Airy Elementary School was constructed in 1964 and originally consisted of 14 classrooms, a library, an office, a supply room, and a common room that served as the auditorium, gymnasium, and cafeteria; and

WHEREAS, in 1969 Mount Airy Elementary School became an integrated school that offered grades one through three, while Renan Elementary School handled grades four through seven; and

WHEREAS, during the 1968 - 1969 session, Mount Airy Elementary School was accredited by the State Board of Education and, during the 1971 - 1972 session, became affiliated with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools; and

WHEREAS, Mount Airy Elementary School expanded in 1973 - 1974 to include a kindergarten program and expanded again in 1988 to include fourth and fifth grades when Renan Elementary School closed; and

WHEREAS, Mount Airy Elementary School continued to expand in 1997 and 2000, undergoing renovations to add air-conditioned classrooms, a new library, a new gymnasium, and a computer lab; and WHEREAS, in 2000 Mount Airy Elementary School enacted a Title I program, strengthening its

ability to ensure a proper education for all students; and

WHEREAS, in 2001 Mount Airy Elementary School had the distinction of becoming the first school in Pittsylvania County to be accredited by the Virginia Department of Education; and

WHEREAS, Mount Airy Elementary School was honored in 2003 with the Blue Ribbon School award and was commended by the Pittsylvania County Board of Supervisors for winning a 2012 National Title I Distinguished School award; and

WHEREAS, Mount Airy Elementary School commemorated its 100th anniversary with a special program of tours, contests, music, refreshments, and sales of the cafeteria's acclaimed chili beans; and

WHEREAS, several principals have loyally served Mount Airy Elementary School throughout its history, including Paul Hughs, Lewis A. Evans, James A. Pearson, Jeremiah Hemingway, Raymond Ramsey, Aubrey Yeatts, Vickie Murphy, and Maxine Diggs; and

WHEREAS, Joyce Wright, the current principal, and the faculty and staff of Mount Airy Elementary School persist in their noble mission to educate and motivate the youth of Pittsylvania County; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend Mount Airy Elementary School on the occasion of its 100th anniversary; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Mount Airy Elementary School as an expression of the General Assembly's gratitude for providing quality education and enriching Pittsylvania County for 100 years.