2012 SPECIAL SESSION I

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 524

Commending the Briar Woods High School cheer team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 27, 2012

WHEREAS, the 2011 Briar Woods High School cheer team capped an outstanding season by claiming, for the third year in a row, the Virginia High School League Group AA state competitive cheer championship on November 12, 2011; and

WHEREAS, Briar Woods High School believes in the pursuit of excellence in a learning community and promotes collaborative initiatives, relationships, and interactions among students, staff, parents, and the community; and

WHEREAS, Briar Woods High School became the first cheer program in Virginia High School League history to win the state title in the same classification for three straight years; and

WHEREAS, the varsity cheer team members—Riley Blackwell, Kelly Cashman, Jenny Chase, Ali Cloutier, Amanda Dorsch, Maddy Gaejten, Ashley Grant, Kiona Harrison-Dyson, Kadejah Harrison-Dyson, Jordan Harvich, Tori Huntley, Holly Johnson, Hannah Keely, Sarah Mason, Kara Michaelian, Jade Morris, Katie Oakes, Maddie Ozolins, Mckinna Pace, Jenna Rajala, Brigham Shellenberger, and Elsa Sylvester—all contributed to the team's championship season; and

WHEREAS, the encouragement and support of principal Ed Starzenski and the entire Briar Woods High School community energized the cheer team as they advanced to victory; and

WHEREAS, the championship victory belongs not only to the Briar Woods High School Falcons cheer team and their world-class coaches, but also to their families and to the students and faculty at Briar Woods High School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That the Briar Woods High School cheer team hereby be commended on winning the 2011 Virginia High School League Group AA state competitive cheer championship; and, be it

RÉSOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Kristen Develli, head coach of the Briar Woods High School cheer team, as an expression of the House of Delegates' congratulations and admiration for the team's outstanding season and championship performance.