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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

2012 Fiscal Impact Statement 
 

1.  Patron Jackson H. Miller 2. Bill Number HB 207 

  House of Origin: 

3.  Committee Senate Finance   Introduced 

   Substitute 

    Engrossed 

4.  Title Retail Sales and Use Tax; Exemption for 
Gold, Silver, and Platinum Bullion 

 

  Second House: 
  X In Committee 

   Substitute 

   Enrolled 

 

5. Summary/Purpose:   
 
This bill would provide an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for gold, silver, or 
platinum bullion (excluding jewelry or works of art), provided the sales price for the entire 
transaction exceeds $1,000.  “Gold, silver, or platinum bullion” would be defined as gold, 
silver, or platinum, and any combination thereof, that has gone through a refining process 
and is in a state or condition such that its value depends on its mass and purity, and not 
on its form, numismatic value, or other value.   
 
Under current law, the sale of these items is subject to the Retail Sales and Use tax as 
tangible personal property.   
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified.  The provisions of this bill would expire on 
June 30, 2015. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  No. 
 

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Not available.  (See Line 8.) 
 

8. Fiscal implications:   
 
Administrative Costs Impact 
 
The Department considers implementation of this bill as “routine” and does not require 
additional funding. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill would result in a revenue loss, the magnitude of which is unknown.  The 
Department lacks the data concerning retail sales of gold, silver, and bullion that would 
qualify for this exemption. 
 
In order to give a very rough sense of the order of magnitude of the revenue impact of the 
proposed exemption, Virginia wholesale dealers sold $10,007,000 in gold, silver, and 
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platinum in 2007.  If the Retail Sales and Use Tax were applied to these sales, the 
estimated tax revenue would have been $500,000.  However, prices of gold and silver 
have increased substantially from 2007 to 2012.  Furthermore, the Department does not 
have the data to determine the number of sales of gold, silver, and platinum that exceed 
$1,000.  Further, this estimate may be overstated because it includes sales of precious 
metals not subject to the tax, such as sales in interstate commerce, sales for resale, sales 
to manufacturers and other industrial processors, and other exempt sales   
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
Department of Taxation 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No.  
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Currency Exchange 
 
Exchanges of United States currency and foreign currencies are not subject to Virginia 
sales tax.  The exchange of currencies is not a sale of tangible personal property for sales 
and use tax purposes. 
 
Use of Gold as Currency 
 
The Gold Reserve Act of 1934 required the Treasurer of the United States to withdraw 
gold coins and gold bullion from currency circulation in the United States.  This remains 
true.  For this reason, gold bullion is no longer a legal currency in this country, but is 
treated as a commodity that can be bought and sold based on its current market value of 
the precious metal.  The sale of gold bullion is treated as a sale of tangible personal 
property, not an exchange of currency.  As a sale of tangible personal property, the sale 
is subject to the Retail Sales and Use Tax. 
 
Surrounding States 
 
Of the surrounding states, Maryland is the only one that exempts bullion.  The exemption 
applies only if the sales price exceeds $1,000. 
 
Other States 
 
The following states provide an exemption for bullion:  Arizona, California, Colorado, 
Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, 
Missouri, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South 
Dakota, and Texas. 

 
Dollar Limit:  The following states provide an exemption, provided the total sale exceeds a 
certain amount:  California ($1,500); Connecticut ($1,000); Florida ($500); Louisiana 
($1,000); Massachusetts ($1,000); New York ($1,000); and Texas ($1,000). 
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Proposal 
 
This bill would provide an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for gold, silver, or 
platinum bullion (excluding jewelry or works of art), provided the sales price for the entire 
transaction exceeds $1,000.  “Gold, silver, or platinum bullion” would be defined as gold, 
silver, or platinum, and any combination thereof, that has gone through a refining process 
and is in a state or condition such that its value depends on its mass and purity, and not 
on its form, numismatic value, or other value.   
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified.  The provisions of this bill would expire on 
June 30, 2015. 
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