9/7/22 18:13

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 62

Offered January 11, 2012 Prefiled January 10, 2012

Commending the Phoebus High School football team.

12103066D

1

2

3

4

5

6

7 8 9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17 18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

Patron—Locke

WHEREAS, by winning the 2011 Virginia High School League Group AAA, Division 5 championship, the Phoebus High School football team from Hampton attained a place in rarified territory, becoming only the second school in state history with four straight gridiron titles; and

WHEREAS, the team's 20-10 win over South County Secondary School at Scott Stadium at the University of Virginia gave the Phoebus High School team seven football crowns in this century; the school also won the Division 5 title in 2001, 2002, 2006, 2008, 2009, and 2010; and

WHEREAS, in the 2011 game, Phoebus High School quarterback Eric Enderson and wide receiver Romond Deloatch teamed up for two touchdown passes, including a 50-yard scoring catch by Deloatch that put the Phantoms (13-2) ahead for good over the South County Stallions of Lorton; and

WHEREAS, Phoebus High School's defense also produced some outstanding plays, including a one-armed tackle by defensive end Miles Givers, who later said his herculean effort was a result of the team's will to win; and

WHEREAS, the victory was a group endeavor, with four starting quarterbacks and tailbacks, while a dedicated coaching staff and supportive Phoebus High School community also contributed to the team's success; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the 2011 Phoebus High School football team on the school's record-tying fourth straight Virginia High School League Group AAA, Division 5 championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Stan Sexton, head coach of the Phoebus High School football team, as an expression of the General Assembly's congratulations and admiration for the school's outstanding athletic success.