9/14/22 22:28

12103309D SENATE BILL NO. 480

Offered January 11, 2012 Prefiled January 11, 2012

A BILL to amend the Code of Virginia by adding in Article 2 of Chapter 3 of Title 24.2 a section numbered 24.2-303.4, relating to technical adjustments of certain Senate district boundaries.

Patron—Lucas

Referred to Committee on Privileges and Elections

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That the Code of Virginia is amended by adding in Article 2 of Chapter 3 of Title 24.2 a section numbered 24.2-303.4 as follows:

§ 24.2-303.4. Senate districts.

Subject to the provisions of subsections A, B, and C of § 24.2-303.3, the following Senate districts shall be comprised as follows:

Third. All of Gloucester, King and Queen, King William, and New Kent Counties; all of the City of Poquoson; part of Isle of Wight County comprised of the Bartlett (201), Carrollton (202), and Rushmere (301) Precincts and part of the Smithfield (101) Precinct; part of James City County comprised of the Berkeley B Part 1 (1021), Berkeley B Part 2 (1022), Berkeley C (103), Jamestown A (201), Powhatan A (301), Powhatan C (303), Roberts A Part 1 (5011), Roberts C Part 1 (5031), Stonehouse A (401), Stonehouse B (402), and Stonehouse C (403) Precincts and parts of the Jamestown B (202) and Roberts B (502) Precincts; part of Surry County comprised of part of the Bacon's Castle (201) Precinct; part of York County comprised of the Dare (402), Harris Grove (302), Harwoods Mill (401), Seaford (301), Tabb (501), Waller Mill (103), and Yorktown (102) Precincts; part of the City of Hampton comprised of the Asbury (205) Precinct; and part of the City of Suffolk comprised of the Driver (102) and Ebenezer (201) Precincts.

Fourteenth. Part of Isle of Wight County comprised of the Carrsville (503) and Walters (501) Precincts and parts of the Windsor (402) and Zuni (504) Precincts; part of Southampton County comprised of the Berlin (101), Hunterdale (501), Ivor (102), and Sedley (602) Precincts; part of the City of Chesapeake comprised of the Bailey Creek (038), Bells Mill (009), Bells Mill II (046), Bethel (002), Bridgetown (037), Churchland (004), Coopers Way (051), Deep Creek (006), E. W. Chittum School (020), Fellowship (021), Grassfield (014), Great Bridge (001), Great Bridge Baptist Church (036), Green Sea (047), Greenbrier (007), Hickory Grove (016), Hickory Middle School (034), Indian Creek (017), John T. West (041), Jolliff One (019), Lake Drummond (039), Pleasant Crossing (043), Shipyard Road (052), Sunray I (028), and Waterway (049) Precincts and parts of the Oak Grove (023), Silverwood (027), and Sunray II (045) Precincts; part of the City of Franklin comprised of the Precinct 1-1 (101) and Precinct 2-1 (201) Precincts; part of the City of Portsmouth comprised of the Twenty-Nine (029), Thirty (030), Thirty-Two (032), and Thirty-Three (033) Precincts; part of the City of Suffolk comprised of the Airport (401), Cypress Chapel (303), Holland (502), Holy Neck (503), Kilby's Mill (501), Lake Cohoon (504), Lakeside (601), and Whaleyville (402) Precincts and parts of the Elephants Fork/Westhaven (603) and King's Fork (203) Precincts; and part of the City of Virginia Beach comprised of the Bellamy (043), Blackwater (034), Creeds (032), Cromwell (054), Glenwood (058), Hillcrest (087), Indian Lakes (078), North Landing (088), Rosemont Forest (064), and Round Hill (071) Precincts.

Eighteenth. All of Greensville and Sussex Counties; all of the City of Emporia; part of Brunswick County comprised of the Dromgoole (201), Edgerton (202), Fitzhugh (203), and Lawrenceville (501) Precincts; part of Isle of Wight County comprised of the Camps Mill (502), Courthouse (401), Orbit (403), Pons (302), and Raynor (505) Precincts and parts of the Smithfield (101), Windsor (402), and Zuni (504) Precincts; part of Southampton County comprised of the Blackwater River (701), Boykins (201), Branchville (202), Capron (301), Courtland (601), Drewryville (401), Forks-Of-The-River (502), Meherrin (203), Newsoms (702), and Sebrell (302) Precincts; part of Surry County comprised of the Carsley (401), Claremont (501), Dendron (301), Spring Grove (502), Surry (101), and Wall's Bridge (302) Precincts and part of the Bacon's Castle (201) Precinct; part of the City of Chesapeake comprised of the Nansemond (044) and Taylor Road (035) Precincts and part of the Silverwood (027) Precinct; part of the City of Franklin comprised of the Precinct 3-1 (301), Precinct 4-1 (401), Precinct 5-1 (501), and Precinct 6-1 (601) Precincts; part of the City of Portsmouth comprised of the One (001), Five (005), Seven (007), Nine (009), Ten (010), Eleven (011), Thirteen (013), Fourteen (014), Sixteen (016), Seventeen (017), Nineteen (019), Twenty-Three

SB480 2 of 2

- (023), Twenty-Four (024), Twenty-Five (025), Twenty-Six (026), Twenty-Seven (027), Twenty-Eight
- 60 (028), Thirty-One (031), Thirty-Four (034), Thirty-Five (035), and Thirty-Six (036) Precincts and part of
- the Thirty-Eight (038) Precinct; and part of the City of Suffolk comprised of the Bennetts Creek (104), Chuckatuck (202), Hollywood (701), John F. Kennedy (302), Nansemond River (703), Olde Towne 61
- **62**
- (602), Southside (403), White Marsh (301), and Yeates (705) Precincts and parts of the Elephants **63** Fork/Westhaven (603) and King's Fork (203) Precincts. 64
- 2. That the first enactment changes the assignment of certain census blocks to certain Senate **65** 66 districts as follows:
- In Isle of Wight County, block 510932801053039 is reassigned from District 3 to District 18 and 67 block 510932803001002 is reassigned from District 14 to District 18. **68**