## 2012 SESSION

## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 488**

Commending the Patrick Henry College moot court national championship team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 6, 2012 Agreed to by the Senate, March 8, 2012

WHEREAS, the Patrick Henry College moot court program has had a proud tradition of outstanding performance since the team's founding in 2001; and

WHEREAS, the Patrick Henry College moot court team, from Loudoun County, has won six of the last eight national championships; and

WHEREAS, the Patrick Henry College program is the only collegiate moot court program to have more than one American Collegiate Moot Court Association national championship title; and

WHEREAS, the moot court program at Patrick Henry College excels under the leadership and coaching of Dr. Michael Farris and Dr. Frank Guliuzza; and

WHEREAS, the Patrick Henry College moot court team qualified and sent the maximum number of eight teams to the 2012 national tournament at Chapman University in Orange County, California, with three of the teams competing in the final four round; and

WHEREAS, the 2012 Patrick Henry College team of J.C. Cartee and Andrew Ferguson won five rounds in one day for the first-place trophy; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Patrick Henry College moot court team composed of J.C. Cartee, Joshua Chamberlain, James Compton, Ardee Coolidge, Bridget Degnan, Andrew Ferguson, Nicole Frazer, Kayla Griesemer, Samuel Johnson, Blake Meadows, James Nelson, Kyle Niewoehner, Rebecca Sampayan, P. Logan Spena, Micah Walters, and Ben Williamson on winning the 2012 American Collegiate Moot Court Association National Championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare copies of this resolution for presentation to the Patrick Henry College moot court team as an expression of the General Assembly's congratulations and appreciation of the Patrick Henry College moot court program's growing legacy of bringing leadership and excellence in collegiate moot court competition to the Commonwealth. HJ488ER