HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 446

Commending the Maggie L. Walker Governor's School for Government and International Studies "We the People" team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 2, 2012 Agreed to by the Senate, March 7, 2012

WHEREAS, the national "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" program developed by the Center for Civic Education promotes and tests students' knowledge and understanding of the United States Constitution through a program of intensive study and competition; and

WHEREAS, high school competition begins at the congressional district level with classes from each school vying for the district championship; congressional district winners advance to compete in a statewide championship, and state champions travel to Washington, D.C., to take part in the annual national finals; and

WHEREAS, an independent evaluation found that "We the People" high school students scored 30 percent higher than their peers and 36 percent higher than college students on a comprehensive test of political knowledge and made significantly greater gains in their understanding of core values and principles of democracy, constitutional limits on governmental institutions, and the rights and responsibilities of citizenship; and

WHEREAS, the Maggie L. Walker Governor's School for Government and International Studies in Richmond is the defending national "We the People" champion; and

WHEREAS, the state of Virginia "We the People" high school finals were hosted by Judge Roger L. Gregory at the United States Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals in Richmond on February 10, 2012; and

WHEREAS, this year's competition, sponsored by the Center for the Constitution at James Madison's Montpelier in Orange County, brought together high school teams from each of Virginia's congressional districts; and

WHEREAS, through speeches and questions from panels of judges, participating students brought thorough knowledge and expertise to important constitutional questions; and

WHEREAS, following a full day of competition and judging, Maggie L. Walker Governor's School was awarded its 15th consecutive state championship and will compete in the National Finals in April 2012; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Maggie L. Walker Governor's School team include Tyler Garrett, Selena Kitchens, Siobhan Rigby, Andrea Yeh, Eric Ott, Matt Ruskan, Sameer Sarkar, Annie Valentine, Johnny Mac Yates, Caitlin Lane, Kathryn Marqueen, Justin Shawler, Melody Wang, Marc Petrine, Eileen Wang, Gray Whisnant, Jesse Zhao, Ian Baxter, John Darr, Abigail Simon, Darice Xue, Dylan Fauss, Stephen Roach, Martin Slag, and Arthur Wu; and

WHEREAS, the Maggie L. Walker Governor's School students were expertly prepared by their teacher, Mr. Matt McGuire; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Maggie L. Walker Governor's School for Government and International Studies "We the People" team; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the Maggie L. Walker Governor's School for Government and International Studies "We the People" team as an expression of the General Assembly's congratulations and admiration for their outstanding accomplishment.