## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 427**

Commending the Briar Woods High School football team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 24, 2012 Agreed to by the Senate, March 1, 2012

WHEREAS, the 2011 Briar Woods High School football team from Ashburn repeated its championship ways by claiming—for the second year in a row—the Virginia High School League Group AA Division 4 title; and

WHEREAS, with this second consecutive state championship, the Briar Woods High School football team (14 - 1) became the second straight Loudoun County high school to win two titles in a row; Broad Run High School won the crown twice, in 2008 and 2009; and

WHEREAS, the Briar Woods High School team's remarkable achievements put Loudoun County's outstanding football programs squarely on the map of football dominance in the Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS the members of the Briar Woods High School varsity football team are: Mitch Krisfalusi, Alex Carter, Mike Barta, Cam Serigne, Darryll Gadsden, David Clements, Trace McSorley, Jamal Hill, Matt Rolin, Mark Leith, Devin Ramos, Yves Kouame, Jeremy Bailey, Ty Davis, Tristan Miller, Blake Ratliff, Neil Barron, Joe Rizzardi, Melvin Holland, Hunter Ford, Chase Stanga, Connor Cashman, Chris Dorsey, Zach Sload, J.T. Logan, Ryan Flaherty, Cory Colder, Aaron Nuby, Erik Leith, Cody Shook, Jack Mercil, B.J. Hinson, Farris Ismati, Brandon Brown, Chris Larco, Brian McKelvey, Mac Canan, Justin Baker, Kevin Owens, Brandon Preznuk, Jared Coker, Todd Craig, Matt Wolcott, Chris Derrickson, Tushar Dhindsa, Josh Jacob, Ian Brunell, T.K. Johansen, Stephen Cobbs, Sam Karl, Trei Germany, Chris Harold, Nick Merletti, Brandon Fryer, Robert Garcia, Luciano Villanueva, John Goodwyn, Pete Daniels, Justin Chappell, Erik Thysse, Jonathan Rosa, Nick LaFrankie, Ryan Tracy, Jon Hirsh, Anthony Martinez, Riley Canan, Brady Scott, Dillon Blevins, Brandon Ivey, Connor Bottcher, and Chris McMillian; and

WHEREAS, all of the members of the Briar Woods High School Falcons football team, led by head coach Charlie Pierce and his staff, Chris Brown, Jared Develli, Travis Huff, Joey Babick, Zach Polk, Mike Groves, Tom Slack, and Matt Brown, under the guidance of Principal Ed Starzenski, contributed to the team's championship season, while the support of the Briar Woods High School community served as a source of motivation for the players and coaches; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Briar Woods High School football team on winning the Virginia High School League Group AA Division 4 state championship for 2011; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Charlie Pierce, head coach of the Briar Woods High School football team, as an expression of the General Assembly's congratulations on an exceptional season.