VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 2012 SESSION

CHAPTER 80

An Act to amend and reenact § 23-231.15 of the Code of Virginia, relating to the Roanoke Higher Education Authority.

[S 105]

Approved March 6, 2012

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That § 23-231.15 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 23-231.15. Board of Trustees; appointments; terms; compensation; officers.

A. The Authority shall be governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of 23 22 members as follows: the Director of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia or his designee; the Chancellor of the Virginia Community College System or his designee; and the presidents or their designees of Averett College, Bluefield College, Hollins University, James Madison University, Jefferson College of Health Sciences, Mary Baldwin College, Old Dominion University, Radford University, Roanoke College, University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and Virginia Western Community College; the Director of TAP This Valley Works; two members of the House of Delegates to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates; one member of the Senate to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; and five nonlegislative citizen members representing business and industry in the Roanoke Valley to be appointed by the Governor. Nonlegislative citizen members of the Board shall be citizens of the Commonwealth and residents of the Roanoke region.

B. The legislative members, the Director of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, the Chancellor of the Virginia Community College System, the Director of TAP This Valley Works, and the presidents or their designees of the named institutions of higher education shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. After the initial staggering of terms, all nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed for terms of four years, except that appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the unexpired terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments. No nonlegislative citizen member of the Board shall be eligible to serve more than two successive four-year terms; however, after the expiration of the remainder of a term to which appointed to fill a vacancy, two additional four-year terms may be served by such member, if appointed thereto.

C. Nonlegislative citizen members shall not be entitled to compensation for their services. Legislative members of the Board shall receive such compensation as provided in § 30-19.12, and all members of the Board shall be reimbursed for all reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties in the work of the Authority as provided in §§ 2.2-2813 and 2.2-2825. Funding for the compensation and expenses of the members shall be provided by the Authority.

D. The Board shall elect a chairman and a vice-chairman from among its members and may establish

bylaws as necessary.