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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2011 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron 2. Bill Number HB 1942 
 

Albert C. Pollard, Jr. 
 House of Origin: 

3.  Committee  X Introduced 
 

House Finance 
  Substitute 

    Engrossed 
4.  Title  
  Second House: 
   In Committee 
   Substitute 
 

Retail Sales and Use Tax; Litter Tax; 
Exemption for Agricultural Produce and 
Producers 

  Enrolled 
 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would provide an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for agricultural 
produce that is raised and sold by an individual at retail in local farmers markets and at 
roadside stands, provided such sales by the agricultural producer do not exceed $2,400. 
The bill would also exempt from the litter tax individuals who raise and sell agricultural 
produce in local farmers markets and at roadside stands, and whose annual income from 
such sales does not exceed $2,400.   
 
Under current law, an agricultural producer regularly engaged in selling tangible personal 
property at retail must register as a dealer and collect and remit the tax due on retail 
sales.  The tax applies to regular or recurring sales of farm products by farmers or 
peddlers at a public market, roadside stand, farm, or any other place. 
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  No.  
 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Preliminary.  (See Line 8.) 
 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs 
 
TAX considers implementation of this bill as routine and does not require additional 
funding. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill would result in a revenue loss, the magnitude of which is unknown.  The bill would 
exempt up to $2,400 in sales from the retail sales tax, which, assuming a 2.5% reduced 
sales tax rate applicable to food for home consumption, would equal $60.  TAX does not 
have sufficient data regarding vendor sales and the number of current state agricultural 
produce vendors.  There are 193 farmers markets in Virginia; however, vendor 
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attendance varies by size, season, and special events.  There is no reliable data for 
roadside stand agricultural vendor participation. 
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
TAX 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  Yes. 
 
In order to clarify the intent of this bill, the following technical amendment is suggested: 
 
Page 1, line 51, after 7. 
Strike:  Up to $2,400 in value of agricultural produce, as defined in § 3.2-4738, that is 
raised and sold by individuals throughout the Commonwealth in local farmers markets and 
at roadside stands 
Insert:  Agricultural produce, as defined in § 3.2-4738, that is raised and sold by an 
individual in local farmers markets and at roadside stands throughout Virginia, whose 
annual income from such sales does not exceed $2,400. 
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Retail Sales and Use Tax for Farmers 
 
Virginia law currently provides an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for certain 
agricultural products, including but not limited to commercial feeds, seeds, plants, 
fertilizers, breeding and other livestock, agricultural chemicals, fuel for drying or curing 
crops, containers for fruit and vegetables, farm machinery, certain tangible personal 
property that will be affixed to real property owned or leased by a farmer, and agricultural 
supplies, provided they are sold to and purchased by farmers for use in agricultural 
production. 
 
The Retail Sales and Use Tax generally applies to regular or recurring sales of farm 
products by farmers or peddlers or at a public market, roadside stand, farm, or any other 
place.  Wholesale sales, including those made by farmers are exempt.  A farmer regularly 
engaged in selling tangible personal property at retail must register as a dealer and collect 
and remit the Retail Sales and Use Tax due on retail sales, just like any other retailer.    
 
The Retail Sales and Use Tax is imposed at a reduced rate of 2 ½% for food purchased 
for home consumption.  Generally, this term includes most staple grocery food items and 
cold prepared foods packaged for home distribution.  Farmers markets, supermarkets, 
and specialty meat and produce stores are among the list of retailers that are generally 
authorized to charge the reduced sales tax rate on sales of eligible food and beverages.   
 
Litter Tax 
 
The Virginia Litter Tax is imposed annually on manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors, 
and retailers of certain products, including “groceries”, at a rate of $10 per establishment 
from which business is conducted.  An additional litter tax of $15 per establishment is 
imposed on manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors, and retailers of groceries, soft 
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drinks, carbonated waters, beer, and other malt beverages.  TAX has interpreted 
groceries to include produce and dairy products. 
 
While a farmer is generally not considered to be a manufacturer, wholesaler, distributor, 
or retailer, he is considered a retailer if he is selling the farm products to the ultimate 
consumer.  Thus, he will be subject to both the $10 and $15 annual liter tax per 
establishment. 
 
The litter tax and return are due on May 1 of each year.  Virginia imposes a penalty equal 
to 100% of the tax assessed if the litter tax is paid late. 
 
Proposal 
 
This bill would provide an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for agricultural 
produce that is raised and sold by an individual at retail in local farmers markets and at 
roadside stands, provided such sales by the agricultural producer do not exceed $2,400.  
Agricultural produce sold by large commercial retail sellers would continue to be subject to 
the Retail Sales and Use Tax. Similarly, produce sold by wholesalers would be exempt 
from the tax as tangible personal property sold for resale.   
 
Under the terms of this bill, as a dealer in the Commonwealth, agricultural producers 
whose annual income from sales of agricultural produce do not exceed $2,400 would still 
need to register to collect the Retail Sales and Use Tax, but would not be required to 
collect or remit taxes on the sale of items, until such time as their annual sales exceed 
$2,400.   Agricultural producers with retail sales in excess of $2,400 would be required to 
collect and remit tax on all taxable sales of agricultural produce, including the first $2,400 
in sales.   
 
The bill would also exempt from the litter tax individuals who raise and sell agricultural 
produce in local farmers markets and at roadside stands, and whose annual income from 
such sales does not exceed $2,400.   
 
The effective date of this bill is not specified. 
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