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Department of Planning and Budget
2011 Fiscal Impact Statement

Bill Number: HB1932
House of Origin X] Introduced [] Substitute [] Engrossed
Second House [ ] InCommittee [ | Substitute [] Enrolled

Patron: Marshall, D.W.

3. Committee: Courts of Justice

4.

Title: Domestic abuser registry established; penalty.

Summary: Defines 'domestic abuser' as an adult who has been convicted of a violation of §
16.1-253.2, 18.2-57.2, or 18.2-60.4 or of a substantially similar law of another state or of the
United States and requires any domestic abuser physically within the boundaries of the
Commonwealth for more than 10 consecutive days to register in person with the sheriff of the
county or city in which the domestic abuser resides or is located. The bill also requires the
offender to reregister annually. Failure to register or reregister is a Class 6 felony. The bill
requires the sheriff to notify every residence and business within a one-half-mile radius of the
abuser’s residence or location within 10 days of initial registration. The bill requires that
registry information be maintained in a central registry by the State Police and posted on the
State Police website.

Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes. Items 67.20, 67.30, 407 and 380.
Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary. See Item 8.

Fiscal Implications: According to the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, the
proposed legislation would impact state correctional beds by 114 beds by fiscal year 2017.
Consistent with the requirements of §30-19.1:4, Code of Virginia, $3,085,510 is the
calculated amount that should be appropriated to the Department of Corrections in fiscal year
2012 if this bill is passed.

Assuming that these additional offenders would be forced to remain in local and regional
jails, the following chart depicts the estimated state per diem costs to house state responsible

inmates in jail beds.

State inmates housed in local correctional facilities

FY12 FY13 FY14 FY15 FY16 FY17
Beds* 1 15 39 66 90 114
Days 366 365 365 365 366 365
Per diem $12 $12 $12 $12 $12 $12

$4,392 $65,700 $170,820 $289,080 $395,280 $499,320



10.

11.

* Per the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission

The Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission also stated that the proposal would impact
local jail beds (by 116 beds by fiscal year 2017). The following chart depicts the expected
fiscal impact to the state by paying per diems to local and regional jails if the proposal passes.

Local adult correctional facilities

FY12 FY13 FY14 FY15 FY16 FY17
Beds* 3 31 54 75 96 116
Days 366 365 365 365 366 365
Per diem $4 $4 $4 $4 $4 $4

$4,392 $45260 $78,840 $109,500 $140,544 $169,360
* Per the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission

In addition, the Department of State Police estimates that about $986,000 is needed to design
and develop a new registry and website, and an additional $126,411 is needed each year to
support a position.

The cost to local law enforcement is not known at this time.

Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Departments of State Police and
Corrections, local and regional jails, and the Compensation Board.

Technical Amendment Necessary: No

Other Comments: None.
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