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2011 Fiscal Impact Statement 
 

1. Bill Number:   HB 1777 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Gilbert 
 

3.  Committee: Passed both houses 

 

4. Title: Fictitious birth certificates 

 

5. Summary:   
 

  Under current law, it is a Class 1 misdemeanor to obtain, possess, sell, or transfer the 

birth certificate of another for the purpose of establishing a false identity for himself, except 

when such act is conducted for the purpose of purchasing a firearm, in which case it is a 

Class 6 felony. 

 

  The proposed legislation would continue the Class 1 misdemeanor penalty for anyone 

convicted of obtaining or possessing the birth certificate of another or a fictitious birth 

certificate for the purpose of establishing a false identity.  However, it would make it a Class 

6 felony to manufacture, sell, or transfer a fictitious birth certificate or the birth certificate of 

another for the purpose of establishing a false identity for himself or for another person. 

 

6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  No.  The final budget bill adopted by the General 

Assembly includes an amendment for $50,000 for the appropriation required by § 30-19.1:4 

of the Code of Virginia. 

  

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Final.  See Item 8. 

7a. Expenditure Impact:   

 

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 
   

2012 $50,000 General 

 

8. Fiscal Implications:   

 

  Anyone convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor is subject to a sentence of up to 12 months in 

jail.  For someone convicted of a Class 6 felony, a judge has the option of sentencing him to 

up to one year in jail, or 1 to 5 years in prison.  Therefore, because it increases an offense 



from a Class 1 misdemeanor to a Class 6 felony, this proposal could result in an increase in 

the number of persons sentenced to prison. 

 

  Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, 

pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on 

state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.  In such cases, Chapter 874 of the 

2010 Acts of Assembly requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:   Department of Corrections  

  

10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  None. 

  

11. Other Comments:  None. 
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